Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. — Dartmouth College and the Department of Athletics and Recreation inducted 18 new members into the Wearers of the Green in a ceremony after the homecoming football game on Saturday evening. More than 100 people gathered at the Top of the Hop to honor the induction class, including Dartmouth Director of Athletics and Recreation Harry Sheehy ’55a.

Most of the 18 inductees were members of the men’s rugby teams that won the USA Sevens Collegiate National Championship in 2011 and 2012 as seen on NBC. Another inductee played for the Hong Kong men’s rugby national team, and two competed in the Olympics — Evelyn Stevens ’05 and Madison Hughes ’15. Stevens participated in the 2012 Olympics as a cyclist after spending her undergraduate years as a member of the women’s varsity tennis team, while Hughes (also a member of the 2012 Rugby Sevens championship squad) captained the 2016 Olympic men’s rugby team.

“We have tremendous athletes here at Dartmouth,” Sheehy said, “not just at the varsity level, but in many of our club sports as well. I am absolutely thrilled to have the opportunity to honor each one of these alumni for their excellence on the field of competition, whether it be during their college days or beyond. We take great pride in including them in the ranks of the Wearers of the Green!”

Wearers of the Green, essentially the Dartmouth Athletics Hall of Fame, was created in 1984 to honor students, alumni and coaches who have met specific criteria for athletic excellence in their respective sports. Previously, a ceremony was held in Boston every five years to induct new members. But since 2014, new members have been inducted on an annual basis during Homecoming weekend in Hanover, alternating years to induct varsity athletes, or club-sport athletes and masters champions.

In addition to the induction ceremony, the new inductees marched in the Dartmouth Night Parade on Friday evening and were recognized on Memorial Field during halftime of the football game against Harvard on Saturday afternoon.

Anthony C. Desir ’81 (Men’s Rugby) — National Team (Hong Kong, 1992)
Evelyn L. Stevens ’05 (Cycling) — Two-time Individual National Champion (2010, 11), Olympian (2012)
Anthony J. (T.J.) Cameron ’11 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011)
Christopher C. Downer ’11 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011)
Nicholas C. Downer ’11 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011)
Steven K. Morris ’11 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011)
J. Tanner Scott ’11 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011)
Nathaniel M. Brakeley ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012), All-America (2011, 2012), National Team (2015-17)
Derek T. Fish ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2012), All-America (2012)
Paul E. Jarvis ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012), All-America (2010)
Clark E. Judge ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012)
William N. Lehmann ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012)
William C. Mueller ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012)
David C. Turnbull ’12 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2012)
Justin W. Ciambella ’13 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2012)
Kevin J. Clark ’14 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2011, 2012)
James C. Sharpe ’14 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2012)
Madison J. Hughes ’15 (Men’s Rugby) — National Champion (2012), All-America (2012-15), National Team (2013-17), Olympian (2016)