Related Links

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – After going winless against No. 10 Princeton for many years, the ninth-ranked Dartmouth men’s squash team won its third consecutive match against the Tigers to capture the Hoehn Cup with a 7-2 win in Division B of the CSA Team Nationals in Cambridge.

With the victory, the Big Green finish the season 10-7 while the Tigers finish 6-10

The first round of matches started off strong with a commanding 3-0 win from captain Nick Harrington. Junior Brian Giegerich also had a strong showing, winning the first two games, dropping the third and finally recovering to win the fourth, 11-8. Freshman Brandon de Otaduy, after losing the first two games, had a tight 12-10 victory in the third. Unfortunately, he was unable to maintain his momentum and ultimately lost 3-1.

In the second round of matches, sophomore Carson Spahr blanked his Princeton opponent in a decisive three games. Junior Jack Harvey traded the first two games with his opponent, but he pulled ahead to win 3-1. With the Big Green up 4-1, sophomore Matt Giegerich delivered a gritty performance at the No. 5 spot. Giegerich and his opponent were tied 2-2 going into the fifth game, but he pulled ahead to win the fifth game 11-6, clinching the victory for Dartmouth.

In the third round of matches, sophomore Sam Epley dropped the first game, 11-9 before recovering to win 3-1. Captain Glen Brickman established a 2-0 lead before dropping the third game, 11-8. However, he regained his momentum and won the fourth game, 13-11. Junior Alvin Heumann established a 2-0 lead over his opponent but ultimately fell in five games.

The Big Green return to action March 3rd for the CSA Individual Championship.

1 – Adhitya Raghavan (P) d. Alvin Heumann (9), (8), 3, 5, 8
2 – Carson Spahr (D) d. Gabriel Morgan 7, 6, 2
3 – Cody Cortes (P) d. Brandon De Otaduy 12, 5, (10), 11
4 – Sam Epley (D) d. Abhimanyu Shah (9), 8, 5, 3
5 – Matt Giegerich (D) d. Shehab Thabet (8), 7, (6), 9, 6
6 – Nick Harrington (D) d. Komron Shayegan 8, 8, 2
7 – Glen Brickman (D) d. Ben Leizman 9, 4, (8), 11
8 – Jack Harvey (D) d. Henry Parkhurst 8, (7), 8, 8
9 – Brian Giegerich (D) d. William Oon 7, 5, (6), 8