Related Links

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The eighth-ranked Dartmouth men’s squash team defeated No. 14 George Washington, 7-2, to advance to the finals of the Hoehn Cup in Division B of the CSA Team Nationals on Saturday afternoon.

With the victory, the Big Green improve to 9-7 overall, while the Diplomats fell to 8-8.

In the first round of matches, senior co-captain Nick Harrington and junior Brian Giegerich came out firing. Harrington brought some of his best squash to Cambridge this weekend, as he defeated his opponent in a quick three games. Giegerich followed suit, securing Dartmouth’s second win with a three-game victory. Freshman Brandon de Otaduy Nam concluded the opening round of matches, falling 3-0 to a talented opponent.

The Big Green took control of the overall match in the second round as junior Jack Harvey and sophomore Matt Giegerich each won in three games. Sophomore Carson Spahr looked to continue his dynamic play, and he did just that in his match’s opening game, winning, 11-9. Spahr’s opponent heated up, though, and won the following three games.

Senior co-captain Glen Brickman clinched the match win for Dartmouth with a well-played 3-0 victory. Meanwhile, sophomore Sam Epley played a talented opponent and matched him shot for shot. Epley dropped the first game, but he elevated his play in the second and third. Epley’s opponent was unable to continue due to injury thus handing the match to the Old Greenwich, Connecticut native. Junior Alvin Heumann played the final match of the day in front of a large crowd, and he did not disappoint. Heumann raced out to a 2-0 lead with his inspiring play and won in four games.

The Big Green will compete for the Hoehn Cup against the winner of Cornell and Princeton tomorrow morning.

Alvin Heumann, (D) def. Jamie Oakley, (GW) 11-7,11-5,4-11,11-2
Oisin Logan, (GW) def.  Carson Spahr (D) 9-11,11-7,11-8,11-9
Mahmoud Abdel-Maksoud (GW) def. Brandon Otaduy (D) 11-5,12-10,11-5
Sam Epley, (D) def. Andres de Frutos, (GW)  4-11,11-7,12-10
Matt Giegerich, (D) def. Juan Laguna, (GW) 11-6,11-8,11-8
Nick Harrington, (D) def. Billy Berner, (GW) 11-4,11-4,11-6
Glen Brickman, (D) def. Nick Valderrama, (GW) 11-5,11-5,11-1
Jack Harvey, (D) def. Omar Mussehl, (GW) 11-5,11-6,11-4
Brian Giegerich, (D) def. John Bassett, John (GW) 11-7,11-3,11-5