Related Links

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Senior Alvin Heumann of the Dartmouth men’s squash team was named to the All-American First Team for 2017-18, announced by the College Squash Association. 

The CSA states the All-American selections represent the highest level of competitive excellence in college squash and are chosen based on in-season and championship play. This is his second All-American honor and he is the only member of the Big Green to receive the accolade this season.

In his final season wearing the green and white, Heumann recorded 11 wins competing at the No. 1 spot all season. His five-game win at Columbia was one of only two wins Dartmouth took in New York, he also took down Drexel’s Lucas Rousselet in five games to help the team to an 8-1 victory. Heumann faced Yale’s Spencer Lovejoy, Princeton’s Youssef Ibrahim, Trinity’s Kush Kumar, St. Lawrence’s Ahmed Bayoumy and Rousselet this season, all of whom are either on the All-American First Team or Second Team. 

This season the Big Green finished ranked fifth overall, which is the best final ranking the team has had in at least five years, which the Southport, Connecticut native helped achieve in leading his team as one of three co-captains for the season. 

This honor comes following the CSA Individual Championships, where Heumann advanced to the second round, falling to David Ryan from Harvard who went on to win the title. The senior also received All-Ivy First Team accolades at the end of the regular season.

CSA Men’s All-Americans:

First Team
Saadeldin Abouaish (Harvard University)
Ahmed Bayoumy (St. Lawrence University)
Timmy Brownell (Harvard University)
Andrew Douglas (University of Pennsylvania)
Alvin Heumann (Dartmouth College)
Karim Ibrahim (St. Lawrence University)
Youssef Ibrahim (Princeton University)
Osama Khalifa (Columbia University)
Kush Kumar (Trinity College)
Spencer Lovejoy (Yale University)
David Ryan (Harvard University)
Velavan Senthilkumar (Columbia University)

Second Team
Mahmoud Abdel Maksoud (George Washington University)
Omar Allaudin (Trinity College)
Moustafa Bayoumy (St. Lawrence University)
Ashley Davies (University of Rochester)
Tomotaka Endo (University of Rochester)
Harrison Gill (Yale University)
Belal Nawar (St. Lawrence University)
Lucas Rousselet (Drexel University) Ziad Sakr (Trinity College)