Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – Former Dartmouth women’s hockey captain Laura Stacey ’16 is one of three players in the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) that has been nominated for Rookie of the Year, as announced Thursday.

Stacey, Renata Fast (Toronto Furies) and Iya Gavrilova (Calgary Inferno) have been selected as the top three first-year players for the 2016-17 season.

So far in her first season with the Brampton Thunder, Stacey has appeared in 20 games, scored 11 goals and tacked on 13 assists for 24 points. She is second on her team in all three categories and is tied for sixth in the five-team league in points.

Stacey has at least one point in 13 games this season and has eight multi-point performances. In the last six games, she has registered 12 points.

The 2017 CWHL Awards will be held in Ottawa on Friday, March 3, at the Kailash Mital Theatre at Carleton University.