Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth lightweight rowing team held its annual end-of-the-year banquet this past weekend.

Sophomore Robert Van Voorhis received The Joshua D. Blum ’90 Award, which is given annually to the most improved varsity lightweight oarsman. Van Voorhis learned to row his freshman year at Dartmouth and has quickly picked up the sport, ending the season stroking the second varsity eight and constantly challenging for a spot in the varsity. 

The John. L Branscum Jr. ’81 Award was presented to freshman Evan Wetzel for being the most outstanding novice. In high school, Wetzel was a four-time letterwinner in cross-country and Nordic skiing and, in turn, enabled Wetzel to quickly become a tenacious rower. He performed near the top of the group throughout winter training and earned a seat in the second varsity eight, which is very rare for a novice rower.

Senior Matthew Marcus received the Louis C. Breer Memorial Bowl, which is presented to the oarsman who, through leadership and conscientious effort, has best shown sportsmanship as a member of the lightweight crew team. Marcus has been a strong leader on and off the water throughout his four years at Dartmouth. 

Freshman Wyatt Genasci-Smith was awarded The Class of 1990 award, which is given annually to the underclassman who strives to excel on the water as an oarsman, as well as off the water as a teammate and a friend. He has contributed to the team in many ways beyond just boat speed in his first year at Dartmouth. His character, demeanor and friendly disposition reach and inspire each of his teammates on a daily basis.

The Timothy Ryerson Award is given to the individual who has made the most significant contribution to freshman lightweight crew and was awarded to freshman Henry Cawthorne. Cawthorne was a constant presence in the varsity eight from his first day on campus and has performed at an extremely high level on and off the water throughout the year.

The Big Green Oar is awarded annually to the most valuable member of the lightweight team and went to junior David White, who stroked the varsity eight this spring. 

The banquet concluded with the election of White as Captain and junior Cortland Weatherley-White as Commodore for the 2016-2017 season.