Related Links
HANOVER, N.H. — The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Skiing Committee announced the 148 skiers — 74 men, 74 women — selected to participate in the 2017 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Skiing Championships on Tuesday afternoon, with Dartmouth being represented by the full allotment of 12 skiers. The championships will take place on March 8-11 at Cannon Mountain in Franconia, New Hampshire, and Jackson Ski Touring Center in Jackson, New Hampshire, with the University of New Hampshire serving as the host school.

The Big Green skiers selected for the competition are:

Men’s Alpine
Brian McLaughlin, Jr. (Topsfield, Massachusetts)
Tanguy Nef, Fr. (Geneva, Switzerland)
Thomas Woolson, Sr. (Warren, Vermont)

Women’s Alpine
Alexa Dlouhy, So. (Montreal, Quebec)
Kelly Moore, Jr. (Ottawa, Ontario)
Foreste Peterson, Jr. (Berkeley, California)

Men’s Nordic
Luke Brown, Jr. (St. Paul, Minnesota)
Callan DeLine, Jr. (Avon, Colorado)    
Fabian Stocek, Sr. (Jilemnice, Czech Republic)

Women’s Nordic
Lydia Blanchet, So. (Anchorage, Alaska)
Abby Drach, Fr. (Eden Prairie, Minnesota)
Lauren Jortberg, Fr. (Boulder, Colorado)

These dozen skiers accounted for a total of 48 podium finishes during the carnival season, with nearly half of those (23) on the top step. Stocek led Dartmouth with no less than nine top-three finishes and eight victories, and only once finishing lower than fourth in his 12 events. Of the alpine skiers, McLaughlin had the most podiums with six, winning four events outright (split evenly between slalom and giant slalom). McLaughlin also won the Eastern Intercollegiate Skiing Association (EISA) giant slalom title and is the top-ranked men’s alpine skier from the East.

For the women, all three alpine skiers finished in the top three on three occasions with Peterson winning the giant slalom thrice. The freshman cross country skiers, Drach and Jortberg, both stepped onto the podium five times with a victory in a freestyle and a classical event each.

Participants are selected on a regional basis from two designated regions for alpine skiing (East and West Regions) and three designated regions for Nordic skiing (Central, East and West Regions). Bids are awarded to regions using a formula determined by the skiing committee. A maximum of 12 student-athletes (three per gender per discipline) may participate from an institution.

Along with Dartmouth, six other schools will be sending the full complement of 12 skiers to the championship — Alaska Anchorage, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Vermont and the two-time defending champion, Denver.

Alpine events will run Wednesday, March 8 and Friday, March 10 at Cannon Mountain in Franconia, New Hampshire. Nordic events will be held Thursday, March 9 and Saturday, March 11 at Jackson Ski Touring Center in Jackson, New Hampshire.

This year’s skiing championships once again will be webcast live on Visit to watch all of the action.