Related Links

BLOOMFIELD, Conn. — Senior Jessica Kittelberger and sophomore Maddie Nelson each shot a two-over 74 on Saturday to lead Dartmouth to a third-place finish in the 10-team Hartford Invitational with a 19-over 307. The second and final round on Sunday was canceled due to expected inclement weather.

Fairleigh Dicksinson took home the team title, just beating out Sacred Heart by a stroke at 10-over par (298). The Big Green finished nine strokes off the pace, but beat the only other Ivy League team competing at the event, Yale, by nine strokes as well.

The chilly round was played under blue skies at Tumble Brook Country Club over 6,325 yards on the par-72 layout, which was to the liking of Dartmouth’s top two performers on this day. Kittelberger played the front nine at even par with a bogey on the par-5 third hole before making up for it with a birdie on the par-5 fifth. Nelson, meanwhile, was a stroke behind her teammate at the turn, taking bogeys on both 5 and 6 before sinking her first birdie of the round on the 320-yard, par-4 eighth hole.

On the back nine, Kittelberger was quite consistent, making par seven times. Nelson dropped pars on the first four holes, but the last five were more of an adventure with two birdies, a bogey and a double-bogey, but ultimately matching the 74 carded by Kittelberger.

Others scoring for Dartmouth were sophomore Kristen Soh with an 79 (+7) in a tie for 23rd, and senior Isabelle Kane one stroke behind Soh with an 80 (+8) in a tie for 29th. Freshman Moon Cheong rounded out the Big Green’s five with an 81 (+9), while freshman Julianne Strauch (83) and sophomore Bethany Burns (87) competed as individuals in the 63-player field.

Sacred Heart’s Alejandra Perez won medalist honors by three strokes with a two-under 70, while her teammate, Chelsea Sedlar, and Fairleigh Dickinson’s Najae Butler tied for second with a 73 (+1), though Butler’s score did not contribute to the team title as she was playing as an individual.

With this final tune-up under their belts, the women head to Jackson Township, New Jersey, for the Ivy League Championship at Metedeconk National Golf Club on April 20-22.