Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – At the annual end-of-the-year banquet, five members of the Dartmouth men’s swimming and diving team were recognized for their performances throughout the 2016-17 season. The Big Green wrapped up their season at the Ivy League Championship last week, finishing in seventh place.

Senior Joby Bernstein was the recipient of both the John C. Glover Swimming Trophy and the Lutkus Award, receiving the latter for the second year in a row. The Glover Trophy is given to the most inspirational member of the team. John Glover, a three-time All-American, captain and holder of 35 records during his collegiate career, died at the Yale Pool while training for an Olympic berth in 1956. The Lutkus Award is given by the coaches to the swimmer or diver proven to be an outstanding and consistent performer during the season and has maintained a high academic standing. At his final conference championship, he swam the 1650 free (16:04.17), 1000 free (9:32.10) and 500 free (4:33.82).

Junior Brett Seeley-Hacker received the Paul E. Tsongas Most Improved Award. The award was named in honor of Tsongas, who was a four-year member of the team from 1958-62 and was a quiet, yet effective leader. The U.S. Senator, who ran for presidency in 1992, died of cancer in 1997. As someone who mostly competed on the diving boards last season, Seeley-Hacker improved on the swimming side of things this year, racing in the 1000 free (9:40.47) and 1650 free (16:18.12) at Ivies.

The Outstanding Freshman Award was given to Josh Hendell for exemplifying the spirit of Dartmouth swimming through his character, performance and enthusiasm. At his first showing at the conference meet, he swam the 500 free (4:33.61), 1000 free (9:18.64), 1650 free (15:41.21) and 800 free relay (6:39.47).

Sophomore AJ Krok was named the Ron Keenhold Diver of the Year. At Ivies, he finished in sixth place on both 1-meter (254.40) and 3-meter (282.15), earning a total of 48 points. Keenhold was both a swimming and diving coach at Dartmouth for four decades who has numerous accolades as an All-American diver himself.

The Karl B. Michael Award was given to senior David Harmon. On day three of the Ivy Championship, Harmon broke his own Dartmouth record from 2015 in the 100 fly (47.95), swimming under 48 seconds for the first time in his career and earning an NCAA B cut. Karl Michael, after whom the Dartmouth pool is named, retired as head coach at the end of the 1970 season after 28 years on deck. He won 218 dual meets while losing only 91, produced 37 All-American swimmers and was awarded the National Collegiate and Scholastic Trophy for outstanding contribution to the sport in 1967. The award named after him is given to the member of the squad who has given the most to the team.

At the conclusion of the banquet, the team announced its captains for the 2017-18 season. Henry Senkfor and Tony Shen will lead the Big Green in their senior season.