Related Links

PRINCETON, N.J. – The Dartmouth heavyweight rowing team competed in the Princeton Chase on Sunday, with nine boats rowing in three events. 

In the Varsity 8 final, the Big Green raced four boats, and the varsity 8A came in second place out of 38 (12:36.791), behind Princeton (12:32.476) and in front of Syracuse (12:41.462).

“It was great to see our top line up close the gap on Princeton from the Charles, and finish in front of a couple of fast, talented crews in Syracuse and Wisconsin,” said head coach Wyatt Allen. “It’s verification that we are on a good track technically, and physiologically, but the most important thing is we continue to build from here. 

“Our lower boats had mixed results on the day, but I have no doubt we are deeper than we’ve ever been in my time at Dartmouth. I am sure we will find lineups and combinations that will be very good come spring.”

The varsity 8C boat came in 16th (13:13.772), two seconds ahead of Temple (13:15.962). The Big Green’s B boat was not far behind, in 19th (13:16.388), in front of Holy Cross (13:19.088) and MIT (13:26.145). The varsity 8D crew finished 27th (13:29.918) beating Delaware (13:30.412). 

In the Varsity 4+ final, Dartmouth’s A squad finished ninth (14:25.177) with Syracuse B (14:25.600) and Princeton D (14:30.594) right behind. The B team came in 18th (14:48.891) with the Big Green’s D crew in 22nd (14:58.804) and the C boat in 24th (15:02.285).

Dartmouth had one squad in the Freshman 8+ who finished in second place out of 20 in the final (12:53.310) behind California (12:45.544) and ahead of Princeton A (13:06.525).

Next weekend the Big Green will host the Green Monster, a freshman only event, in Hanover, ending the fall action.


Varsity 8A
Jake Rauh, Evan Dwinell, Joseph Carleo, Caleb Edmundson, Paul Gralla, Austin Heye, Noah Van Dyke, Oliver Bub, Brendan Caltavuturo 

Varsity 8B
Emma Cooper, Albert Mitchell, Christian Frey, Harrison Taylor, William Berkowitz, Liam Davidson, Dan Kramer, Mark Levinson, Liam Keane

Varsity 8C
Avery Salumbides, Luke Hudspeth, Joseph Hajjar, George Atkins, Ian Marx, Marc Sevastopoulo, Gustav Arvidsson, Henry Sanford, Will Sanford

Varsity 8D
Annika Park, Charlie Lebens, Sean White, Belincevic, Jon Scott, Clayton Kiyonaga, Chatterton, Ben Wisdom, Morgan Bronson