Related Links

GOLD RIVER, Calif. – The Dartmouth heavyweight rowing team concluded the 2016-17 season on the third and final day of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Regatta on Lake Natoma Sunday.

The day was highlighted by the Big Green's first and second varsity crews finishing in third place in the Petite Finals. At the end of the weekend, Dartmouth was awarded the Clayton Chapman Trophy for being the most improved team.

"Finishing in ninth place as a team and winning the Chapman Award for the biggest improvement in the team standings was a great end to the year for our team," head coach Wyatt Allen said. "The second and third varsity both took big steps forward from Eastern Sprints. I give a lot of credit to the athletes in these crews, as well as to coaches Al Monte and Stuart Maeder. The varsity battled through a very tough progression this weekend, and they laid it all out on the course in their final."

Just five seconds separated the top five crews in the Petite Final of the second varsity; Brown led the way (5:51.38) and was followed by Penn (5:52.90) in second, Dartmouth in third (5:53.60) and Cornell in fourth place (5:54.72). Northeastern crossed the line after the Big Red to take fifth (5:56.79).

The Big Green were fourth in the Petite Final of the third varsity (6:00.12), edging Cornell by a mere six-tenths of a second (6:00.74). Syracuse completed the course less than a second later (6:01.44).

The varsity eight Petite Final was another very close race, with all six boats finishing within five seconds of each other. Northeastern took the win (5:36.58) and was followed by Syracuse (5:38.59) and Dartmouth (5:39.18). Ever a fan of close margins, the Big Green left just seven-tenths of a second between it and Boston University (5:39.86). 

In the varsity four Petite Final, Dartmouth was sixth (6:47.68), coming in a tenth of a second behind MIT (6:47.50). 

Cameron O'Reilly (C), Spencer Furey (S), Albert Mitchell (7), Tommy Kiernan (6), Nevin Cunningham (5), Austin Heye (4), Scott Ortlip (3), Ryan O'Hanlon (2), Noah Van Dyke (B)

Jake Rauh (C), Mark Levinson (S), Joseph Carleo (7), Luke Hudspeth (6), William Berkowitz (5), Ian Marx (4), Liam Davidson (3), Oliver Bub (2), Brendan Caltavuturo (B)

Emma Cooper (C), Luka Pejanovic (S), Mitchell Tevis (7), George Atkins (6), Sean White (5), Trevor Knight (4), Jon Scott (3), Henry Sanford (2), Jordan Siegal (B)

Avery Salumbides (C), Charlie Lebens (S), Christian Frey (3), Morgan Bronson (2), Jack Duggan