Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – Head coach Wyatt Allen announced the 2015-16 Dartmouth heavyweight rowing awards at the team’s annual end-of-year banquet. Six Big Green rowers were recognized for their performances throughout the season. 

Freshman Ian Marx received the Marshall A. Robinson Award for being the most improved oarsman. 

“Ian’s transformation this year has been fun to watch,” Allen said. “On the erg, he dropped nearly 20 seconds from his high school 2K personal record and, on the water, his stroke and boat feel has improved dramatically. More importantly, his attitude and commitment to the process and his teammates has been an inspiration to the entire squad.” 

Junior Spencer Furey was the recipient of the Peter V.W. Gardner Award, which was originally given by the senior heavyweight oarsmen in 1982 to recognize the inspirational leadership and honorable character of Coach Gardner.

“Spencer is a true leader by both word and example,” Allen said. “He holds the boathouse records for both the 2K and 6K on the erg. Spencer is a guy that doesn’t settle for good enough and he is always pushing himself and the team to new heights. He is also a leader off the water and outside of the boathouse, performing exceptionally well in the classroom and supporting his friends and teammates at every turn.”

The Dr. Robert G. Fisher Award, given to the freshman who has done the most to encourage the highest ideals of rowing at Dartmouth, was awarded to Luke Hudspeth

“On top of being a great athlete, Luke’s strength of character, passion and good nature make him stand out among his peers,” Allen said. “Toughness, accountability and selflessness are the cornerstones of our team, and Luke truly exemplifies those ideals.”

Senior Greg Zales received the Richard W. Grossman Coxswains’ Award, which is to be given by the varsity and freshman coaches to the coxswain whose unparalleled commitment to rowing has contributed most to the success of his or her boat and the squad as a whole. 

“Greg has been a driving force in the setting of our team’s culture over the last two years,” Allen said. “He has been a staple in the varsity eight during his tenure, and his worth ethic, skill and tenacity will be hard to replace.”

The Thaddeus Seymour Rowing Award for the undergraduate who has made the greatest contribution to rowing at Dartmouth was given to senior Bobby Moffitt.

“Bobby has been a fixture in the varsity eight during his time at Dartmouth,” Allen said. “His skill, leadership and high character have been a consistent and integral force in our boathouse and he has raised the standard of performance for our team on and off the water with his sheer hard work and determination.”

Senior Jacob Wojnas received the Stewards Award for being the undergraduate who has done the most to promote the ideals of the Dartmouth rowing team.

“Jake, in my opinion, is the ultimate team guy,” Allen said. “Rarely have I been around someone so selfless and invested in the success of those around him. We are going to miss him hugely next year.”