Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth women's swimming and diving team celebrated the 2016-17 season by handing out team awards at its postseason banquet. The Big Green concluded their season last month at the Ivy League Championship, finishing in eighth place.

Senior Amy Sun received the Geer Award. The award is presented to the swimmer or diver who has contributed the most to the development of the Dartmouth program, through not only her performance in the pool, but through her day-to-day dedication to her teammates and the team concept. At her final Ivy Championship, she competed in the 100 free (52.75), 50 free (24.26), 200 free (1:53.09), 800 free relay (7:28.88), 200 free relay (1:35.02) and 400 free relay (3:27.97).

The Lutkus Award is given to the student-athlete who has proven to be an outstanding and consistent performer during the season and who has maintained a high academic standing. Sophomore Grace Herron was the recipient this season. At Ivies, she swam the 50 free (24.60), 100 fly (58.23) and 200 fly (2:06.79).

For the third consecutive season, junior AnnClaire MacArt received the Karl B. Michael Swimming Award. At the Dartmouth Invite in December, she took down the program's longest standing record in the 1650, slashing the 19-year old record by 13 seconds (17:14.95). At the Ivy League Championship, she raced in the 500 free (4:52.29), 1000 free (9:58.71), 1650 free (16:45.89) and 800 free relay (7:28.88). Karl Michael, after whom the Dartmouth pool is named, retired as head coach at the end of the 1970 season after 28 years on deck. He won 218 dual meets while losing only 91, produced 37 All-American swimmers and was awarded the National Collegiate and Scholastic Trophy for outstanding contribution to the sport in 1967. The award named after him is given to the member of the squad who has given the most to the team.

Sophomore Allison Green was named the Ron Keenhold Diver of the Year for the second year in a row. At the conference meet, she competed on the 1-meter board (223.75) and 3-meter (225.50). Keenhold was both a swimming and diving coach at Dartmouth for four decades and has numerous accolades as an All-American diver himself.

The Outstanding Freshman Award went to Sam Norton. At the Dartmouth Invite, she tied the meet record in the 200 breast (2:22.31). During her first trip to the Ivy League Championship, she competed in the 200 IM (2:05.06), 100 breast (1:04.05), 200 breast (2:18.09), 400 medley relay (3:52.14) and 200 medley relay (1:44.95). The award is given annually to the rookie who contributed to the overall team effort in the dual meet season by way of points scored, enthusiasm and dedication to the team.

Sophomore Melanya Zaraska was named the Paul E. Tsongas Most Improved swimmer. At Ivies, she swam the 200 IM (2:08.57), 400 IM (4:28.14), 200 breast (2:22.55) and 800 free relay (7:28.88) The award was named in honor of Tsongas, who was a four-year member of the team from 1958-62 and was a quiet, yet effective leader. The U.S. Senator, who ran for presidency in 1992, died of cancer in 1997.

At the conclusion of the banquet, the team announced its captains for the 2017-18 season. MacArt and Hayley Winter will lead the Big Green as seniors.