Related Links

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – The Dartmouth women’s swimming and diving team returned to the Katherine Moran Coleman Aquatics Center on Saturday for day two of the Bruno Invitational. The team is currently in fourth place out of six teams with 262.5 points.

The Big Green had 15 swimmers make it back to either the A, B or C relay, with 10 in scoring positions.

Dartmouth’s 200-yard medley A relay – which was made up of Caroline Poleway, Sam Norton, Kaitlin McCaw and Megan Crook – placed eighth to start the evening (1:46.08). The B relay was 12th (1:48.53) and earned 18 points, adding a total of 40 points after just one event. 

In the 400-yard IM, Melanya Zaraska placed eighth in the A final (4:32.00), dropping over three seconds off her time from prelims. Hayley Winter and Sarah Finlay competed in the B final, finishing ninth (4:35.69) and 13th (4:45.19), respectively. Megan Crook added nine points to Dartmouth’s total with her ninth-place finish in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:05.45). 

Two Big Green swimmers competed in the B final of the 100-yard butterfly. McCaw finished highest for Dartmouth in 12th (56.33), while Poleway took 15th (58.38). After squeezing into the B final in 16th place, Laura Barthold had a great evening swim, moving up five places and dropping over a second to finish in 11th (1:52.53). AnnClaire MacArt followed soon after, tying for 14th with Madelyn Veith of Princeton (1:53.28). 

Poleway competed in the A final of the 100-yard backstroke, finishing in eighth place (57.48). In the B final, Taylor Yamahata improved on her time from prelims to take 10th (57.61). 

In prelims on the 1-meter diving board, Emily Green and Maggie Pionzio both ended up scoring. Green placed 12th (217.15), while Pionzio took 15th (201.90).

Dartmouth had a good showing in the 800-yard freestyle relay, winning a total of 48 points. The A relay, composed of Barthold, Amy Sun, Zaraska and MacArt, was sixth (7:37.25), while the B relay followed two places later to take eighth (7:52.01). 

The third and final day of the Bruno Invitational will begin at 10 a.m. on Sunday.