Related Links

PRINCETON, N.J. – The 2018 All-Ivy League softball awards include Dartmouth head coach Shannon Doepking as well as six players as announced by the conference Wednesday.

Doepking was named Ivy League Coach of the Year following a successful season as the Big Green finished first in the league at the end of the regular season and will host the championship this weekend. This is Doepking’s second Coach of the Year honor after she received the accolade in 2015.

Freshman Schae Nelson also received major honors as she was named Rookie of the Year following a stellar first year playing in the green and white. Nelson leads the Dartmouth freshmen in batting average with .294 on the season, with a .386 average in conference action. The Montgomery, Texas native was named Ivy League Rookie of the Week in the beginning of April and rounded out the year with Player and Rookie of the Week honors on May 7. In league-only stats, Nelson is third amongst freshmen in hitting but leads the rookies in runs, hits, RBI, doubles, home runs and walks. She has finished the regular season with 25 hits including five doubles and is third on the team in home runs with five.

Three members of the Big Green joined Nelson on the All-Ivy First Team. Senior Breanna Ethridge was a unanimous selection for First-Team pitcher, junior Morgan Martinelli was tabbed the First-Team third baseman and junior Taylor Ward was chosen as a First-Team outfielder. 

Ethridge is wrapping up a strong final season playing for Dartmouth leading the Ivy League in strikeouts with 106 and a season ERA of 2.79. The Loganville, Georgia native recorded a career-high 11 strikeouts against Brown last weekend. This is her second All-Ivy honor after receiving an Honorable Mention last season. 

Martinelli has been on the Second Team the last two seasons and has now been tabbed for the First Team as a junior. The third baseman is third on the team in batting with a .304 average. She has 35 hits including seven doubles and 22 RBI, she has also scored 19 runs. Martinelli is tied with Ward leading the team in home runs with seven each as Ward collects her first career All-Ivy award. 

This season Ward has been an important contributor in the Dartmouth lineup, she’s second on the team with a .310 batting average with 27 hits including four doubles, one triple and 23 RBI. The junior has also been clutch in left field, with a 1.000 fielding percentage she is vital to the outfield defense.

Freshman Heather Turner and sophomore Micah Schroder were both named to the All-Ivy Second Team for pitcher and second baseman respectively, the first conference honor for both.

Schroder leads the Big Green in hitting, with a .371 average. The sophomore has 43 hits with 12 doubles, one triple, six home runs and a team-best 27 RBI. The Houston, Texas native has emerged in her second year to lead the team in several categories and is a strong member of the infield. Through 38 games she has recorded a .945 fielding percentage and is second on the team with 50 assists. 

Turner has made 24 appearances in her first year recording a 3.63 ERA through the regular season. She leads the pitching staff in wins with a 10-4 record and has also tallied three saves, one against Columbia, Yale and Brown. In the second game against Yale she struck out a career-high four batters, adding to her season total which wrapped up at 21.  

This weekend Dartmouth hosts Harvard in a battle for the Ivy League’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals which begin next week.


Taylor Troutt, Columbia (Sr., 2B – )

Katie Duncan, Harvard (Jr., P – )

Schae Nelson, Dartmouth (Fr., C – )

Shannon Doepking, Dartmouth


SP – *Breanna Ethridge, Dartmouth
SP – *Katie Duncan, Harvard
C – *Schae Nelson, Dartmouth
1B – *Madison Gott, Columbia
2B – *Taylor Troutt, Columbia
3B – Morgan Martinelli, Dartmouth
SS – *Rhianna Rich, Harvard
OF – Megan Murray, Cornell
OF – Taylor Ward, Dartmouth
OF – Maddy Kaplan, Harvard
OF – Mackenzie Meyer, Princeton
P/UTL – Meghan Wimmer, Brown
DP/UTL – Meagan Lantz, Harvard

SP – Heather Turner, Dartmouth
SP – Sarah Smith, Harvard
C – Amanda Nishihira, Columbia
1B – Sydney Grobman, Yale
2B – Micah Schroder, Dartmouth
3B – Molly Oretsky, Penn
3B – Allison Harvey, Princeton
SS – Erin Rockstroh, Cornell
OF – Summer Grzybek, Columbia
OF – Jess England, Penn
OF – Megan Donahey, Princeton
P/UTL – Olivia Giaquinto, Harvard
DP/UTL – Jurie Joyner, Penn

SP – Madison Canby, Columbia
SP – Erin Gallo, Columbia
SP – Miranda Papes, Yale
C – Raquel Blanchard, Brown
C – Lindey Kneib, Harvard
1B – Sarah Cwiertnia, Penn
3B – Max Ortega, Columbia
SS – Maria Pagane, Columbia
SS – Danielle Dockx, Princeton
OF – Tabitha Dyer, Penn
OF – Carlin Hagmaier, Yale
OF – Shelby Kennedy, Yale
DP/UTL – Kate Jencarelli, Cornell
DP/UTL – Tori Tagashi, Cornell

*-unanimous selection
^-first team expanded due to ties in the voting
#-second team expanded due to ties in the voting