Related Links

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Subcommittee announced on Wednesday the 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship.

Senior Kristina Mathis, who was named the Ivy League Player of the Year and an All-Ivy first-team selection in singles last week, was one of 15 players to automatically qualify for the championship and will represent the Ivy League as the conference’s only singles qualifier.

Automatic qualification was awarded to any conference with one or more eligible singles players ranked in the ITA Top 125.

The Greer, South Carolina, native is the second Big Green individual to qualify for the singles championship after Taylor Ng ’17 automatically qualified in 2015.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 23-28 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, after the conclusion of the team championship. All matches will be the best-of-three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six-games-all will be used for all matches. 

A staple at No. 1 singles this season, Mathis went 23-13 overall and 12-7 in dual matches, including 6-1 in Ivy play. She ended the regular season on a four-match winning streak, taking down players from Cornell, Columbia, Penn and Princeton. After a good spring, she jumped into the national rankings at No. 100 at the beginning of April and wrapped up the year at No. 107.