Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – Dartmouth women's tennis head coach Bob Dallis announced the 2016-17 team awards at the annual end-of-the-year banquet.

Senior captains Taylor Ng and Jacqueline Crawford were both named MVP. Ng rounded out her final season by being named the ITA Northeast Region Player of the Year, received the Kenneth Archibald Prize (Dartmouth's highest athletic honor given to the best all-around senior athlete), Academic All-Ivy and was on the All-Ivy first team for both singles and doubles. She played every one of her singles and doubles matches over the past three seasons at the No. 1 position and is the winningest women's tennis player in singles, doubles and total victories. 

Crawford received the ITA/Cissie Leary Northeast Region Award for Sportsmanship and was named to the All-Ivy second team for doubles. Throughout the spring, she played every singles match at the No. 2 position, opening 2017 on a five-match winning streak and ending her career on a five-match unbeaten streak. In the first round of the NCAA Tournament, she was tied with her ranked opponent in the third set when the match was abandoned.

Freshman Allison McCann was named Most Improved. Throughout her first season in Hanover, she played singles at the No. 6 position and was at the No. 3 doubles position alongside Crawford. She went 4-1 in Ivy League play, defeating opponents from Yale, Cornell, Columbia and Princeton.

The Class of 1985 Spirit Award, typically given to the player who embodies the values of Dartmouth women's tennis, was given to the team as a whole. The Big Green ended the 2016-17 season with an overall record of 17-5 and were 5-2 in conference play. Dartmouth earned a share of the Ivy title with Harvard and Cornell, finishing first for the first time since 2011. By comparing head-to-head records, the Big Green won their first-ever automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, making their second trip to NCAAs in the past two seasons. Dartmouth fell to Kentucky in the first round.