Related Links

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.  –  At the end of nationwide voting for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award, Wake Forest forward Jon Bakero was selected as the winner. Wake Forest is the second school in the award’s history to have back-to-back wins in the same sport, as last year’s winner, Jacori Hayes, played for the Deacons.


Wyatt Omsberg was a finalist for the award, the lone representative of the Dartmouth men’s soccer team and the only Ivy League finalist, and was named to the First Team Senior CLASS All-Americans. Omsberg is the first Big Green player to be nominated for the honor since midfielder Daniel Keat was a candidate in the 2010 season, and is the first in recent years to reach the finalist stage.


The award is given out annually to the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I men’s soccer, and to be eligible for the award, a student athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in school, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.



First-Team Senior CLASS Award All-Americans

Jon Bakero, Wake Forest

Fraser Colmer, Radford

Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan State

Foster Langsdorf, Stanford

Wyatt Omsberg, Dartmouth


Second-Team Senior CLASS Award All-Americans

Mamadou Guirassy, NJIT

Tomas Hilliard-Arce, Stanford

Niki Jackson, Grand Canyon

Tim Kubel, Louisville

Grant Lillard, Indiana