NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Dartmouth women’s lacrosse team defeated Yale, 12-11, Saturday at Reese Stadium to pick up its first Ivy League win of the season.

The game was delayed more than two hours early in the second half due to a scoreboard malfunction, but the Big Green (6-8, 1-5 Ivy) came out of the locker room and turned an 8-7 deficit at that point into a one-goal loss for the Bulldogs (7-8, 1-5 Ivy).

From the opening draw to the final whistle, the game took four hours and 39 minutes to complete.

Yale led for just 57 seconds of game play, but for more than two hours of real time. The Big Green came out of the break down one after the Elis took the lead for the first time all day, only to rip off three straight goals in the first two and a half minutes after the delay.

"Today this team displayed so much passion and heart, it was fun to be a part of,” head coach Danielle Spencer said following her first career Ancient Eight victory. “We will enjoy this win and get back to work on Monday to finish the season strong."

Courtney Weisse and Kathryn Giroux each finished with three goals, accounting for half of the Green and White’s goal total. Kierra Sweeney and Cara DePippo both chipped in two goals of their own.

Sweeney dished out two assists as well to finish with a team-high four points.

In goal, freshman Kiera Vrindten stopped 11 for her first career Ivy victory, while Yale’s Sydney Marks stopped seven and allowed 12 in the losing effort.

The home team was led by a hat trick from Madeleine Gramigna and a six-point effort from the conference’s leading scorer Hope Hanley as she registered two tallies and dished out four helpers.

Yale out-attempted Dartmouth, 40-26, in shots, while also holding a 22-19 edge in shots on goal. The Big Green led in draw controls (12-10), while the Bulldogs had one more ground ball (17-16) than Saturday’s visitors.

The season comes to an end for Dartmouth next Saturday (April 29) when it plays host to Brown in a Saturday matinee that will also serve as Senior Day for the Class of 2017.