Related Links

ETNA, N.H. – The Dartmouth women's lacrosse team gathered for the final time in 2016, coming together for one more occasion in its current state.

The small gathering of coaches, staff, players and parents was held in Etna, New Hampshire, at Pierce's Inn Wednesday evening where head coach Amy Patton announced the winners of the program's six annual awards.

Senior co-captains Jaclyn Leto and Campbell Probert were the night's big winners as each took home a pair of awards, including sharing one with the other.

Fittingly, the duo split the Josie Harper Award given to the player who has shown love for the game, genuine respect and care for her teammates, and pride in Dartmouth lacrosse and hard work

It's hard to argue against either for the award as both served as excellent leaders for a team that had 10 freshmen on the roster this spring. Their guidance and maturity clearly did not go unnoticed by the coaching staff as they were recognized with this award in their final year in Hanover.

Additionally, Probert was also recognized as the recipient of the Patty Pierce Award, which is presented annually to the player who has made outstanding contributions to the Dartmouth women's lacrosse program, along with being an exemplary role model both on and off the field over the course of four years.

A surprise to no one, the MVP of the attack was once again presented to Leto.

Leto firmly etched herself in the Dartmouth record books with an outstanding senior season that earned the Chatham, New Jersey, native a wealth of accolades and recognition. A Third-Team All-American from the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA), she was also selected to the All-Northeast Region First Team, the All-Ivy League First Team and named the 2016 Ivy League Midfielder of the Year with the last two coming unanimously.

As mentioned, her place at Dartmouth is secure as her career numbers in both points (175) and goals (151) are fifth and third, respectively, all-time in program history, while her 131 draw controls are third. Those figures were boosted by a career year in points (58), goals (53), game-winners (4), ground balls (28), caused turnovers (17), shots (102) and draw controls (49) as a senior.

Junior Lauren Maiorano was named the MVP of the team's defense following an outstanding third year in the Upper Valley. Maiorano was a force in the midfield this season, setting new career highs in ground balls (24 / a team high) and caused turnovers (15), while just shy in draw controls. She was second on the team in caused turnovers and third in ground balls.

The Don '35 and Margaret Radasch Award, presented to the player who exemplifies extraordinary dedication, true coachability and an unselfish attitude throughout the season was presented to junior Kristen Hinckley.

Hinckley played in just 13 games, making nine starts and not recording a point. But her contributions can be measured far more in what she brought to table in terms of leadership, guidance and respect for her teammates and coaches on a daily basis. Her successes revolved more around setting an example on how to carry one's self every day.

For the second year in a row, the team's Most Improved Player honor was presented to a goalkeeper with freshman Charlotte Wahle earning the distinction this spring.

In her first season with the Big Green, Wahle was thrust into the starting role. The only goalkeeper on the roster in 2016, she was perhaps the most important and valued player in uniform this season. She did not disappoint despite what must have been overwhelming pressure to perform either as she played all 900 minutes in the circle, making 96 saves and posting seven wins as a rookie.

Captains for the 2017 season will be announced in the coming weeks.

MVP — Attack: Jaclyn Leto
MVP — Defense: Lauren Maiorano
Most Improved: Charlotte Wahle
Josie Harper Award: Jaclyn Leto and Campbell Probert
Patty Pierce Award: Campbell Probert
The Don '35 and Margaret Radasch Award: Kristen Hinckley