Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Dartmouth Announces 2012 Field Hockey Team Awards

Article Image
By John and Matt Risley
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - With the 2012 field hockey season in the books, Dartmouth head coach Amy Fowler has announced this season's team awards.

The team's Most Valuable Player, as voted on by the players and coaches, was given to senior Lisa Masini after a stellar final season wearing the Green and White. Masini was tabbed as an All-Ivy First Team player as well as a member of the NFHCA All-Northeast Region Second Team following a campaign that saw her post a career-high nine goals and finish second on the team in scoring with 25 points.

Masini, one of the team's co-captains, recently took part in the NFHCA Division I Senior Game at Old Dominion as part of the weekend festivities surrounding this year's Final Four. The game featured the top fourth-year players from across the country playing in several showcase match-ups against one another as well as the US Women's National Team.

Eliza Becker was tabbed by her teammates and coaches as the Rookie of the Year for her play as a freshman in 2012. The Lawrenceville, N.J., native proved to be one of the top young defensive-midfielders in the Ivy League this fall. However, a strength on the defensive end, it was one of her two assists all year that set up one of the biggest goals of the season. Becker was responsible for getting the ball to Maya Herm in the final minutes against UNH on Oct. 28 that set up the senior for the tying goal to force overtime.

Junior Sam Anderson was rewarded for her hard work, being voted as this season's Most Improved Player. 

Anderson recorded career highs in nearly every category. She went from two goals and four points as a sophomore to six tallies and 16 points this past year. She finished fourth on the team in points (16), goals (6) and assists (4), while appearing in all 17 games. Making just two starts, it was Anderson that came off the bench to make big plays for the Green when it mattered most. Of her six goals, two were game winners, tying her for the team lead.

Anderson was a co-winner of this award last season as well.

The Dorothy Leavitt Award is given each year to the individual who makes a significant contribution to the team through hard work, determination, team spirit and a sense of what it takes to be good. This season, the honor went to senior co-captain Maya Herm, one of the team's best players on the field as well as a tremendous leader and motivator for her teammates.

Senior Liz Blanken was presented the Phil McInnis Award as the player who best exemplifies unconditional team support and undying spirit. Blanken, a fourth-year player from Short Hills, N.J., set new career highs in goals (3), assists (5), points (11), game-winning goals (2) and shots (46) this fall and was a major contributor in the team's new offensive schemes.

One of the few players in program history to start every game and play every minute of her four-year career, Blanken has been a stalwart for the Big Green in the backfield.

The Coaches Service Award is given annually to the individual(s) who display a team-first mentality and are always seeking to better the program through various roles. This year's recipient is assistant coach Kristine Stigas. In her second season along the Big Green's sideline, Stigas was instrumental in the team's successes this fall, especially in the defensive end of the field. Her tireless work with Dartmouth's goalkeepers proved valuable as her experience and knowledge of the position were passed along to the duo of senior Jenna Stearns and sophomore Ellen Meyer this fall.

"Kristine did a tremendous job last winter when our program was short-staffed," Fowler said. "She took on many roles which ultimately helped the program maintain a high level of intensity and propelled us to our best season since 2002."