HANOVER, N.H. - The 2011 season may have ended several months ago, but the accolades for the Dartmouth field hockey team continue to come. The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) has recognized the Big Green as one of 65 programs from across Division I to be honored with a 2011 Gladiator by SGI / National Academic Team Award.

To earn this distinction, the cumulative grade-point average of the team must be a 3.00 or higher. Dartmouth exceeded that standard with a 3.35 GPA during the fall while in season.

Not only was the team recognized on the whole for its success in the classroom, but the NFHCA also bestowed individual honors on 12 members on the team.

Leading the way for the Big Green were seniors Kerry Bracco (Hampton Falls, N.H.) and Meagan Vakiener (Port Murray, N.J.) who each earned spots on the 2011 Gladiator by SGI / National Academic Squad for the fourth time in their Dartmouth careers.

To earn an individual honor, a player must carry a minimum GPA of 3.30.

"I am extremely proud of our team honor and for each of my student-athletes who were individually recognized, head coach Amy Fowler said. "Our squad works diligently in the classroom, in the community and on the field; it simply amazes me when they achieve at such a high level, given their challenging schedules (both in and out of the classroom). The commitment to academic success is a hallmark of the Dartmouth experience and I am honored to coach such an outstanding group of young women." 

Freshmen Rebecca Hu (Skillman, N.J.), Janine Leger (Johannesburg, South Africa) and Ali Savage (Orange, New South Wales, Australia), sophomore Olivia Quaglia (Los Altos, Calif.), Maggie Scanlon (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Victoria Tersigni (Bloomsbury, N.J.) and Jenn Weissbach (North Caldwell, N.J.), juniors Liz Blanken (Short Hills, N.J.) and Lisa Masini (Ann Arbor, Mich.) along with seniors Kelly Hood (Berlin, N.H.), Bracco and Vakiener were all tabbed to the All-Academic Squad.

The Big Green were also recipients of the team award and 11 individual honors for the 2010 season.