Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Women's Crew Hands Out 2012 Team Awards

Article Image
By Dartmouth
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - The Dartmouth women's crew team recently celebrated the 2012 season and handed out its annual awards at its season-ending banquet.  

Dartmouth had a great 2012 racing season, claiming the Class of 1985 Cup after a fantastic race against Ivy League rival, Yale. It was Dartmouth's first win against Yale since 1998. The Big Green also placed sixth at the inaugural Ivy League Championship on May 13.

Senior Hayley Daniell (Hopkinton, N.H.) claimed the Julia H. Greer Award, which is voted on by members of the women's crew and is awarded to the woman who has made the most valuable contribution to women's rowing at Dartmouth. Daniell, a two-year member of the varsity eight, was named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-New England region first team for the second consecutive season and is a two-time CRCA Scholar Athlete.

Captain Jamie Chapman (Traverse City, Mich.) earned the Season of 79 Award for her service and dedication. Chapman, who sat in the four-seat in the varsity eight this season, led the Big Green to a sixth-place finish at the Ivy League championship and has been selected to attend the USRowing Under-23 Selection camp.

Fellow senior Sarah Cohan (Marlborough, Mass.) was awarded the Warren C. Nagle Award for perseverance while Lilly Maguire (Milwaukee, Wis.) earned the Parent Award as the most improved rower.

Freshmen Bianca Jackson (Glencoe, Ill.) and Abby Thornburg (Menlo Park, Calif.) also picked up awards. Jackson took home the Martha Beattie '76 Award as the most outstanding freshman while Thornburg claimed the Novice Award given to the most outstanding novice.

The team also selected Sarah Rutter (North Andover, Mass.) as captain of the 2012-13 squad.