Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - In a gathering Wednesday afternoon, the 2011-12 Dartmouth men's hockey team came together one final time to hand out its annual team awards.

All but one award is voted on and chosen by the 27 members of the Big Green and the three coaches.

Senior Doug Jones (Marietta, Ga.) was named the recipient of the Phelan Award, given to the team's most valuable player. Jones finished the season with 25 points on 11 goals and 14 assists, becoming the 36th player in program history to reach the century mark in points, eventually finishing with 107 to sit 23rd in the all-time record books. His 14 assists this season helped him wrap up his career with 78 to rank eighth in Dartmouth history.

The Phelan Award is presented to the individual who, by demonstrating outstanding skill at his position, continued aggressiveness and team spirit, deserves to be named the "Most Valuable Player of the Year". The award is given in honor of ardent Dartmouth hockey supporter Martha C. Phelan, wife of John Phelan '28 and mother of John Phelan, Jr. '63, captain of the 1962-63 team.

Jones shares the Friends of Dartmouth Hockey Award as the team's leading scorer with freshman Tyler Sikura (Aurora, Ontario) as both had 25 points in 2011-12. In his first season, Sikura matched Jones with 11 goals and 14 assists, while leading the team with three game-winning tallies.

For his play in his first season in the Upper Valley, Sikura was also recognized as the winner of the Booma Award as the team's Rookie of the Year. Sikura was one of just five players to suit up in all 33 games this season for the Big Green and the only freshman to do so. The award is presented to the player who, through determination, desire, dedication and ability earns the title "Rookie of the Year" and is named in honor of Ronald C. Booma '30.

Senior Kyle Schussler (Winnipeg, Manitoba) was presented with two awards as voted by his teammates. Schussler was named the recipient of both the Smoyer and McInnis Awards as the team's unsung hero and sportsman of the year.

Schussler played in six games this season and nine in his career, but proved to be one of the most beloved teammates during his four seasons in Hanover. When he finally cracked the lineup the final three weeks of the year, including the postseason, Schussler was a high-energy player that gave his team a noticeable spark. His first career goal came midway through the first game against Cornell in the teams' ECAC Hockey Quarterfinal match-up, energizing the entire team the rest of the night.

The Smoyer Award is presented to the player who has made the most unusual contribution to the team during the season; a contribution that is measured more by intangible factors rather than statistics. It is named in honor of Bill Smoyer '67. A former captain of the 1966-67 team and an outstanding soccer player at Dartmouth, Smoyer was killed in action in Vietnam. The McInnis Award is presented to the player who best reflects spirit, camaraderie, loyalty, and dedication to the program and the College. It is named for Philip McInnis '36, a man who reflected those same characteristics throughout his lifetime, including his time as the President of the Friends of Men's Hockey from 1979-84.

The John Manser Award for Most Improved Player was presented to sophomore forward Eric Robinson (Foxboro, Mass.). In his second season in a Big Green sweater, Robinson made considerable strides offensively. He led the team in goals with 12, while adding 12 assists to rank second on the team in scoring with 24 points, one back of Jones and Sikura. His 12 goals quadrupled his output as a freshman in 2010-11 when he finished with three goals and 11 points.

The award is named for George "Johnny" Manser '26, a captain of the 1925-26 team and the first President of Friends of Dartmouth Hockey.

Kyle Schussler Eric Robinson Doug Jones Tyler Sikura