Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Men Have 20 Earn ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Honors

Article Image
By Dartmouth

ALBANY, N.Y. – The Dartmouth men's hockey program saw 20 student-athletes from this past season earn ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team honors for 2013-14.

Players are eligible for the all-academic team if they earn a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

The Big Green’s 20 players were one more than last season and two more than 2011-12. In all, 202 student-athletes from across the conference’s 12 academic institutions met the requirements needed to earn a spot on the team. Only Quinnipiac (26) and Yale (21) had more players make the list than Dartmouth.

The sophomores led the way for the Green with eight members of the class earning the recognition for work in the classroom. The juniors had five representatives, while the freshman class had four.

All three seniors qualified and were part of this year’s honorees. Cab Morris was recognized for the fourth time, earning the distinction in every year playing in Hanover. Nick Lovejoy was on the team for the third time, while Taylor Boldt made his second appearance on the list.

Juniors Eric Neiley and Andy Simpson were also honored for the third time since arriving in the Upper Valley in 2011.

Dartmouth’s 2013-14 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Players
Jack Barre, So., Economics
Jesse Beamish, Jr., Economics
Nick Bligh, So., Undeclared
Taylor Boldt, Sr., Economics
Ryan Bullock, So., Environmental Studies
Connor Dempsey, So., Economics
Charles Grant, So., Environmental Studies
Josh Hartley, Fr., Undeclared
Brandon Kirk, Fr., Undeclared
James Kruger, So., Psychology
Nick Lovejoy, Sr., History
Cab Morris, Sr., Government
Charlie Mosey, Jr., Economics
Eric Neiley, Jr., Government
Kyle Nickerson, Fr., Undeclared
Tim O'Brien, So., Government
Grant Opperman, Fr., Undeclared
Brad Schierhorn, So., Economics
Tyler Sikura, Jr., Sociology
Andy Simpson, Jr., Government