Related Links
HANOVER, N.H.  – In a small ceremony Thursday night, Dartmouth men’s hockey head coach Bob Gaudet announced the recipients of the 2012-13 team awards as voted on by the members of the team.

Perhaps the last time together as a team in its current state, the gathering serves as the official conclusion of the season.

The evening’s biggest honor went to sophomore forward Tyler Sikura as the team’s most valuable player and recipient of the Phelan Award. Sikura led the team in goals (12), assists (20) and points (32) in his second season in Hanover to earn the title of team MVP. For leading the Big Green in scoring, the Aurora, Ontario, native was the recipient of the Friends of Dartmouth Men’s Hockey Leading Scorer Award for 2012-13 as well.

The Phelan Award is annually chosen by teammates and presented to the player who, by demonstrating outstanding skill at his position, continued aggressiveness and team spirit, deserves to be named as the ‘Most Valuable Player of The Year’. This award is in honor of ardent Dartmouth hockey enthusiast, Martha M. Phelan, wife of John Phelan ’28 and mother of John Phelan, Jr. ’63, captain of the 1963 Dartmouth men’s hockey team.

Sikura becomes the third player since team awards began in their current format in 1976 to win the Phelan Award as MVP the season after earning the Booma Award as the Rookie of the Year.

This season’s Booma Award was presented to goaltender Charles Grant. The Berwick, Nova Scotia, native posted a 7-7-2 record as a freshman in 2012-13. Grant started 18 games in his first year in the Upper Valley, boasting a 2.77 goals-against average and a .911 save percentage with one shutout. His 440 saves this season were the most by any of the team’s three goalies, while also turning aside a season-best 40 shots against Princeton on March 1.

The Booma Award is presented to the player who through determination, desire, dedication, and ability earns the ‘Rookie of The Year’ award. This award is given in honor of Roland C. Booma ’30, an all-around Dartmouth athlete including football and baseball in addition to his role with the hockey program.

Sophomore Jesse Beamish was tabbed as the winner of the John Manser Award as the team’s Most Improved Player. Beamish finished the 2012-13 campaign with eight points on two assists and a career-high six goals. His ability to score tallies in the clutch made Beamish a valuable member of the Big Green this past winter, netting a late marker to beat Harvard in January and a last-minute goal against Princeton in early March to help the team secure home-ice in the first round of the ECAC Hockey Tournament.

The Manser Award is named for and given in honor of George ‘Johnny’ Manser ’26, captain of the 1926 varsity team and the first president of the Friends of Dartmouth Men’s Hockey.

Junior defenseman Taylor Boldt was presented with the Smoyer Award, given to the player who has made the most unusual contribution to Dartmouth men’s hockey each year. These contributions are measured more by intangible factors than statistical results and is commonly referred to as the team’s “Unsung Hero”. The award is in honor of Bill Smoyer ’67, captain of the 1967 team and an outstanding soccer player who was sadly killed in Vietnam.

Boldt is a perfect representation of what it means to be an unsung hero as he is one of the most consistent players in recent memory, but has not received the attention that normally accompanies an individual of his level. A steady, defensive-minded defenseman, Boldt is one of the most well-respected players in the dressing room as well as on the ice for the work he puts into his game to help the team on a daily basis and his positive attitude with teammates and staff members. This season, the Niwot, Colo., native had five assists.

Senior forward Jason Bourgea was tabbed as the 2012-13 honoree of the McInnis Award as the Sportsman of the Year. The award is chosen by the players to honor the individual who has best reflected spirit, camaraderie, loyalty and dedication to Dartmouth men’s hockey and to Dartmouth College. Those same characteristics were demonstrated throughout his lifetime by Philip McInnis ’36, president of the Friends of Men’s Hockey from 1979 through 1984 and in whose honor this award is given each year.

Bourgea suited up and played in just eight games this season and recorded just one assist, but was an important part of the team’s successes. One of the senior leaders on the Big Green, Bourgea was vital to the veteran presence needed for a team that featured 18 underclassmen and was the youngest in ECAC Hockey in 2012-13. A high-energy player, Bourgea made the most of his opportunities in the lineup each night and, like Boldt, was one of the most well-respected players in the dressing room.

Jason Bourgea ’13 Jesse Beamish ’15 Tyler Sikura ’15 Taylor Boldt ’14 Charles Grant ’16