Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

2012 ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team Features 15 Dartmouth Women

Article Image
By Doug Austin

HANOVER, N.H. - The ECAC Hockey league office released its annual All-Academic Team Monday afternoon that featured 15 members of this year's Dartmouth women's program.

Players are eligible for the all-academic team if they earn a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

Seniors Jenna Hobeika (Alpine, N.J.) and Moira Scanlon (Chicago, Ill.) were the two members of the senior class to earn the academic distinction for the fourth time, being named to the all-academic team every year while with the Big Green.

Fellow senior Erica Dobos (Bethel Park, Pa.) as well as juniors Lisa Berreman (Eagan, Minn.) and Margaux Sharp (Carleton Place, Ontario) all were honored for the third time in their careers.

Co-captains Reagan Fischer (Irma, Alberta) and Kelly Foley (South Boston, Mass.) also found their names included on the list along with juniors Jessica Gagner (London, Ontario) and Sally Komarek (Minneapolis, Minn.), both two-time honorees.

Sophomore goaltender Lindsay Holdcroft (Pittsburgh, Pa.) found herself on the team for the second time in as many years and was joined by classmate Lauren Kelly (Milton, Ontario), making her first appearance on the postseason academic team.

Four freshmen student-athletes were also honored by the league office for successes in the classroom while in their first years with the team. Morgan Illikainen (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Abbie Lund (Eden Prairie, Minn.), Karlee Odland (Vauxhall, Minn.) and Samantha Zeiss (Stamford, Conn.) all earned spots on the league's academic team during their first seasons in Hanover.

In all, Dartmouth's 15 names on the women's list were just part of 155 student-athletes from across the league's 12 institutions. Union and Yale led the way with 16 each, with Dartmouth's total ranking a close third, tied with Cornell.

Senior Erica Dobos - biology
Senior Reagan Fischer - sociology
Senior Kelly Foley - history
Senior Jenna Hobeika - engineering
Senior Moira Scanlon - economics
Junior Lisa Berreman - psychology
Junior Jessica Gagner - economics
Junior Sally Komarek - history
Junior Margaux Sharp - history
Sophomore Lindsay Holdcroft - biology
Sophomore Lauren Kelly - sociology
Freshman Morgan Illikainen - undeclared
Freshman Abbie Lund - undeclared
Freshman Karlee Odland - undeclared
Freshman Samantha Zeiss - undeclared