DERBY, Conn. – The Dartmouth men’s lightweight crew team traveled to Yale on Saturday (April 20) to race for the Durand Cup. The Big Green dropped all four races and the Bulldogs claimed the Durand Cup outright for the first time since 2009.

The teams had good racing conditions in the morning and enjoyed fast races. In the marquee first varsity eight race, the Bulldogs took an early lead but the Big Green’s top boat was unfazed and made some moves to cut back into the Yale crew. The teams battled throughout, but the Bulldogs used a strong second half coupled with an impressive sprint to take the race with a time of 5:40.15, ahead of Dartmouth who finished with a time of 5:42.08.

In the second varsity eight race the Bulldogs used a clean start to take an early lead and continued to move down the water to win the race with a time of 5:53.8 ahead of the Big Green crew who crossed with a time of 6:07.3.

The Bulldogs also claimed the freshman race and the third varsity eight races and led both races from start to finish. Dartmouth’s time in the freshman eight was 5:53.48, six seconds after the Bulldogs and was a 6:40.12 in the third varsity eight.

The Big Green are next on the water on Sunday (April 21) when they face Columbia for the Subin Cup.


First Varsity Eight





 Second Varsity Eight





 Third Varsity Eight





 Freshman Eight







Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity Eight
B Ryan Archer
2 Hank Savage
3 Brian Frake
4 Lowell Reeve
5 Josh Sans
6 Julian Danziger
7 Sam Morris
S Josh Konieczny
C Megan Jang

Second Varsity Eight
B Tim Sweeney
2 Chase Weidner
3 Brendan Goldrick
4 Paul Frazel
5 Austin Moore
6 Rob Meyer
7 Evan Meisler
S Chris Calkins
C Lizzie Aviv

First Freshmen Eight
B Nick Pugliaresi
2 Gates Lucas
3 Eddie Harvey
4 Ian Kennedy
5 Matt McFarland
6 Max Gibson
7 Ben Vihstadt
S Eliot Harper
C Julie Sussman

Third Varsity Eight
B Alex Kane
2 Avery Salinger
3 Will Rossi
4 Adan Rivas
5 Young Sang Ryu
6 Will Lynch
7 Rocco Morra
S Matt Marcus
C Will Persampieri