NEW MILFORD, Conn.- The Dartmouth men's lightweight crew kicked off the 2012 season with a dual race against Delaware on Saturday (April 7). The Big Green won three of the four races, including the first and second varsity eight races.

 The squads raced on Lake Lillinonah in New Milford, Conn., with the boats launching from the GSM Rowing Center. The weather proved uncooperative providing a bad tailwind and white caps. The races were 1900 meters.

 In the first varsity eight race, the Big Green took first place with a time of 5:18.5, finishing nine seconds ahead of the Blue Hen's top boat that crossed the finish line with a time of 5:27.6.

 The second varsity eight race provided a Dartmouth victory by nearly the same margin with the Big Green boat taking top honors with a time of 5:23.2 ahead of the Delaware boat that finished with a time of 5:33.1.

 In the freshmen events, the two teams split. The Big Green boated two freshmen fours which both finished ahead of their counterparts from Delaware. Dartmouth's top boat crossed with a time of 6:16.7, followed by the Big Green's second boat with a time of 6:27.0. The Blue Hens rounded out the racing with a time of 6:34.2.

The freshmen eight provided the closest race of the afternoon with Delaware taking the top spot. The Blue Hens eight crossed with a time of 5:36.9, just edging out the Big Green boat who finished with a time of 5:39.4.

 The Big Green hit the road next weekend when they travel to Harvard and MIT for the Biglin Bowl race.  Dartmouth squares off with the crews from Harvard and MIT on Saturday (April 14).

First Varsity Eight

1. Dartmouth - 5:18.5
2.Delaware - 5:27.6

Second Varsity Eight
1. Dartmouth - 5:23.2
2. Delaware - 5:33.1

Freshman Eight
1. Delaware - 5:36.9
2. Dartmouth - 5:39.4

Freshman Four
1. Dartmouth A - 6:16.7
2. Dartmouth B - 6:27.0
3. Delaware - 6:34.2

Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity 8 +:
Cox Andrea Daley, Stroke: Josh Konieczny, 7- Sam Morris, 6- Ian Accomando, 5-Henry Luehrman, 4-Lowell Reeve, 3 -Josh Sans, 2-Phil Grisdela, Bow- Colin Heneghan

Second Varsity 8+: Cox Megan Jang, Stroke-Rajas Kane, 7-Ryan Archer, 6-Brendan Murphy, 5-Brian Frake, 4-Hank Savage, 3-Drew Wong, 2-Ken Greim, Bow-Eric Edelstein

Third Varsity 8 +: - Cox Elizabeth Aviv, Stroke-Hunter Kappel, 7-Jackson Berler, 6 -Peter Lee, 5-Christian Van Dyke, 4-Alex Olesen, 3-Chris Hopkins, 2-Tim Sweeney, Bow-Chase Weidner

Freshman 8+: Cox: Liz Treacy, Stroke: Julian Danziger, 7 -Chris Calkins, 6 -Austin Moore, 5-James Mock, 4 -Hunter van Adelsberg, 3- Nash Larmoyeux, 2 -Zach Queen, Bow- Doug Payne

Freshman 4+ - Cox: Suyash Bulchandani, 4-Wills Russell, 3 -Bassel Zikry, 2 -Christian Chai, Bow: John Conley

Freshman 4+ - Cox: Natalie Haim, 4 -Jamie Yang, 3 -Paul Frazel, 2-Zach Nelson,