BARABOO, Wis.- The Dartmouth men's heavyweight crew team fell in the battle for the Cochrane Cup on Devil's Lake in Baraboo, Wis., on Saturday (April 28) morning.

The Big Green, who were in search of their first Cochrane Cup since 2005, dropped all three races to the Badgers. The first varsity eight race was exciting as just four seconds separated the two crews and just two seconds separated the freshman crews.

The racing conditions were good with a light crosswind and fairly flat water. The Badgers claimed the first varsity eight race with a time of 5:49.2, just ahead of the Big Green who crossed the finish line with a time of 5:53.2. 

The freshman race was equally as exciting as just two seconds separated the Wisconsin and Dartmouth crews. As the squads raced down the course, both teams maintained contact, but the Badgers pulled ahead at the finish to win the race with a time of 6:03.9 ahead of Dartmouth who crossed with a time of 6:05.0. MIT rounded out the race with a time of 6:25.6.

Wisconsin also won the second varsity eight race with a time of 5:59.9,ahead of the Big Green who took second with a time of 6:15.8.

The Big Green will rest before heading to the 2012 EARC Sprints held on May 13 in Worcester, Mass.

First Varsity Eight

1. Wisconsin - 5:49.2
2. Dartmouth - 5:53.2

Second Varsity Eight
1. Wisconsin - 5:59.9
2. Dartmouth - 6:15.8

Freshmen Eight
1. Wisconsin - 6:03.9
2. Dartmouth - 6:05.0
3. MIT - 6:25.6

Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity 8 +:
Cox: Julia Herringer Stroke: Matthew Gallira, 7-Quinn Harper, 6-Joseph Polwrek, 5-Hunter Dray, 4-John Strizich, 3-David Mulrey, 2-Tyler Maloney, 1-Brendan Stoner

Second Varsity 8+: Cox: Reilly Bertasi, Stroke: Jesse Reisner, 7-Jack Heise, 6-Ryan Ganong, 5-Matt Oatway, 4-Nate Kania, 3-Ej Miller, 2-Michael Odokara-Okigbo, 1-Tim Brown

Freshman 8+: Cox: Alexander Steele, Stroke: Andrew Kenealy, 7-Robert Truesdale, 6- Stuart Maeder, 5- Richard Newsome-White, 4-Henry Franco, 3-Bryan Rogers, 2- Maximilian Kinne, 1- Paul Champeau