Related Links

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – The Dartmouth heavyweight crew team closed action at the IRA National Championship on Sunday (June 2). Dartmouth’s first varsity eight won the fourth level final and the second varsity eight took runner-up honors in the third level final.

In the varsity eight race, the Big Green staged a come-from-behind victory. Drexel took the early lead off the line and had a four-seat lead on the field through the first 500 meters of the race.

Dartmouth started its comeback in the middle thousand and made a move into the Drexel crew. The Big Green continued to walk through the Dragons and at the 500-meter mark, less than a seat separated the boats.  The Big Green completed the comeback with a spectacular sprint, crossing the finish line with a time of 5:59.24, just ahead of Drexel’s time of 6:00.79.

The second varsity eight also had a come-from-behind race in its third level final. Navy and Stanford took the early lead off the line, a position they maintained until the 500-meter mark. The Big Green, who made a move into the Stanford crew at the thousand-meter mark, had a fantastic sprint out, racing ahead of Stanford and Oregon State with a time of 6:05.28, good for runner-up honors.

The Big Green rookies, the lone Dartmouth boat to race in the petite final, placed fifth in their race. The race was the close between all the crews until the 500 meter-mark, which was when Wisconsin and Navy began to full way from the field. The Big Green, who were several seats down on Drexel, used a solid sprint to take fifth place with a time of 6:13.63.

Dartmouth closes out the 2013 season with today’s races. In addition to making its 15th consecutive appearance at the national championship, Dartmouth also claimed the Packard Cup.

Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity Eight
Cox-Julia Herringer
8- Stuart Maeder
7-Quinn Harper
6-Jake Esse
5-Richard Newsome-White
4-John Strizich
3-Rob Truesdale
2-Andrew Kenealy
1-Brendon Stoner

Second Varsity Eight
Cox-Reilly Bertasi
8-Henry Franco
7-Paul Champeau
6-Max Kinne
5-Bryan Rogers
4-Sam Seehof
3-Jack Heise
2-Ryan Ganong
1-Tim Brown

Freshmen Eight:
Cox-Greg Zales
8-John Cresap
7-Bobby Moffitt
6-Sam Seder
5-Brad Plunkett
4-Jamie Billings
3-Artie Santry
2-Fred Day
1-Mac Keyser