Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Men's Tennis Presents Team Awards at Year-End Banquet

Article Image
By Dartmouth
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H.  – The Dartmouth men’s tennis team celebrated the 2013-14 season and hosted its annual end of the year banquet at the home of alum and current Philosophy and Computer Science Professor Carey Heckman ‘76 and handed out four team awards.

It was a season of bests for the squad, as the team finished with its highest ITA ranking in program history in March (No. 33). The tennis team also won a program record 18 overall matches and secured its best Ivy performance since 1997 with a 5-2 record.

Freshmen Diego Pedraza was the recipient of The Clarence J. Davies Award, which is given to the varsity player who, by vote of teammates, displayed those qualities of sportsmanship and integrity, which reflect most favorably on himself and Dartmouth.

Freshman Blake Niehaus won The Occum Bowl, which is awarded to the player, who by vote of his teammates, made the greatest improvement during the year in tennis skills and demonstrated increasing maturity in attitude toward the game.

The final award was presented to senior Brandon DeBot, who won both the Hard Hat Commitment Award and the Grit Award.  The Hard Hat Award is given to the player on the team that most exemplifies the team's values of self motivation, preparation, being team oriented, having a positive attitude and strength of character. The Grit Award is presented to the player that most exemplifies the team's values of toughness, grit, resilience, composure and confidence.