Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - The Dartmouth men's and women's track & field teams came together Wednesday evening inside Leverone Field House for its annual end-of-year celebration and banquet.

Over the course of the ceremony, several awards and certificates were handed out to members of the Big Green squads for accomplishments during both indoor and outdoor seasons.

Sophomore Abbey D'Agostino (Topsfield, Mass.) was named the recipient of the Excellence Award on the women's team, presented to the student-athlete deemed the most valuable.

D'Agostino was an All-American during the indoor season in the 3,000 meters, while also helping the distance medley relay team to a third-place showing at the NCAA Championship Meet in Boise. A three-time individual Heptagonal champion in 2012, the sophomore also was named the Most Outstanding Performer of the Meet during outdoor season at Penn.

On the men's side, junior Connor Reilly (Niskayuna, N.Y.) was presented with the Everett L. Palmer Track Prize, given annually to the athlete who contributed most to the track program during the year as determined by the coaching staff.

The Big Green's top male sprinter through both indoor and outdoor seasons, Reilly broke the Dartmouth record in the 60m indoors and has challenged all spring for a spot at regionals in the 100m.

Reilly was also one of six student-athletes recognized Wednesday night as a recipient of the Captain's Award, given in recognition to those individuals who served in a leadership capacity over the course of the season.

Senior Ethan Shaw (Falmouth, Maine) was also one of those six honored for his role as a team captain. However, that was not the only hardware won by the Big Green harrier as Shaw was also presented with the Paul S. Harmon '13 Trophy. The honor is given to that member of the senior class who is a distance or cross country runner and who, in the opinion of the track coach and Director of Athletics, has shown the greatest improvement in track athletics during his college career.

The four others honored for their dedication and leadership as captains on both teams were seniors John Turro (Katonah, N.Y.), Rocco Pallin (Kenosha, Wis.), Christina Supino (Windham, N.H.) and Alexi Pappas (Alameda, Calif.).

Three individuals were named as the programs' outstanding freshmen with Brett Buskey (Blackstone, Mass.) and Thomas Servino (Highland Mills, N.Y.) recognized on the men's side, while Cathy Liebowitz (Plainfield, N.H.) earned the distinction for the women.

Three members of men's squad and two from the women's side were tabbed as the recipients of the Herb Chase Track Award, presented to the members of the team who, in the opinion of the coaching staff, has made the greatest improvement in his or her event through hard work, self-discipline and enthusiasm for the sport.

Senior Evan Bryant (Baltimore, Md.) and sophomores Lukas Zirngibl (Middletown, N.J.) and John Bleday (Westwood, Mass.) were the three male honorees, while the women's team recognized the achievements of senior Naomi Stahl (East Brunswick, N.J.) and sophomore Megan Krumpoch (Shrewsbury, Mass.).

Seniors Pallin and Brendin Beaulieu-Jones (Vernon, Conn.) each received the Nathan D. Bugbee 1925 Memorial Track Prize during the ceremony as well. The award is presented each year to one member each of the men's and women's track squad who, according to fellow team members, best exemplifies the characteristics of good team sportsmanship, spirit, camaraderie, and overall dedication to the sport and who demonstrates respect for team members, opponents and officials.

In that same light, junior Brett Gilson (Richboro, Pa.) was awarded the Leon E. Lovejoy Track Prize, which is given each season to the member of the team who, in the opinion of the DCAD and the coaches, has done the most in sportsmanship and competition to uphold the interest of Dartmouth College.

The Carl Wallin Coach's Award was given to five individuals who demonstrated to the coaching staff the intangibles required to excel in his or her event as well as amongst teammates, coaches and officials. Receiving this honor were Christina Alexander (Austin, Texas) and Arianna Vailas (Manchester, N.H.) on the women's team and Steve Mangan (Honeoye Falls, N.Y.), Kevin Crowley (Barrington, Ill.) and Josh Cyphers (Grantham, N.H.) for the men.

Other awards were also given to those members of the Big Green who claimed individual championship titles at either indoor or outdoor Heps. Those student-athletes were:

Janae Dunchack, So.,  Northern Cambria, Pa.
Pentathlon (indoor) - 3,733 Points
Heptathlon (outdoor) - 4,924 Points

Alexi Pappas, Sr., Alameda, Calif.
3,000-Meter Steeplechase (outdoor) - 9:58.80

Abbey D'Agostino, So., Topsfield, Mass.
Mile (indoor) - 4:46.81
3,000 Meters (outdoor) - 9:24.64
1,500 Meters (outdoor) - 4:17.90

John Bleday, So., Westwood, Mass.
3,000 Meters (indoor) - 8:11.30

Outstanding Achievement recognition was also given to any member of the teams that set a new Dartmouth program record in an event over the course of the year. Those were given to the following individuals and relay teams:

4x800-Meter Relay Team - 8:39.12
Meggie Donovan (Auburn, N.H.), Arianna Vailas, Abbey D'Agostino, Christina Supino

Distance Medley Relay - 11:00.62
Alexi Pappas, Megan Krumpoch, Christina Supino, Abbey D'Agostino

4x1,500-Meter Relay Team - 17:44.95

Arianna Vailas, Alexi Pappas, Abbey D'Agostino, Christina Supino

Women's 3,000-Meter Steeplechase - 9:58.07

Alexi Pappas

Women's 5,000 Meters - 15:23.35
Abbey D'Agostino

Women's 3,000 Meters - 9:02.15
Abbey D'Agostino

Women's Mile - 4:37.41
Abbey D'Agostino

Women's 1,500 Meters - 4:16.15
Abbey D'Agostino

Women's 60-Meter Hurdles - 8.79
Janae Dunchack

Women's 800 Meters - 2:06.94
Christina Supino

Men's 60 Meters - 6.83
Connor Reilly


Some of the night's award winners following the ceremony