Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Women's Assistant Coach Cameron Drafted By Sky Blue FC

Article Image
Assistant coach Brittany Cameon will play professionally for the Sky Blue FC of the...     By Doug Austin
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - Dartmouth assistant women's soccer coach Brittany Cameron was drafted by the Sky Blue FC in the 2013 National Women's Soccer League supplemental draft on Thursday (Feb. 7). Cameron was the 13th overall pick and the fifth pick of the second round.

"Brittany is a very talented goalkeeper and I am excited she has the opportunity to continue her playing career in the NWSL with Sky Blue," said Dartmouth women's soccer head coach Theresa Romagnolo. "We will be following her season and wish her much success. She is a great role model for our team and is able to give them great insight into the skills necessary to play at the highest level. We look forward to welcoming her back in August at the conclusion of her season."

Cameron, the first goalkeeper drafted, was one of four goalkeepers selected in the draft. This will be Cameron's fifth season playing professional soccer after stints with the Los Angeles Sol, Bay Area FC Pride and the Western New York Flash. In her stints with the Western New York Flash and the FC Pride Gold, she won the WPSL Championship and was a finalist in 2009 with the LA Sol.

"I'm very excited to be continuing my professional career," said Cameron. "I'm ready to get back on the field and look forward to the upcoming season."

In her first season with the Big Green, Dartmouth took second place in the Ivy League standings and under her tutelage, goalkeeper Tatiana Saunders (Rye, N.Y.) earned first team All-Ivy honors and was an NSCAA All-Region first-team selection. Dartmouth closed the season on a seven-game win streak and posted the second best winning percentage in school history.

The Sky Blue, a club based out of New York/New Jersey, is one of eight teams in the newly formed National Women's Soccer League. The league is set to begin play in the spring of 2013. The eight founding clubs include the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.