Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Women's Basketball Announces Post-Season Awards

Article Image
By Mark Washburn
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H.  –  Senior Nicola Zimmer and sophomore Lakin Roland were named Ivy League Honorable Mention at the conclusion of the season, as voted on by the league’s eight head coaches.

Zimmer was also named the Gail Koziara '82 Most Valuable Player and the Larry Leavitt Leadership Award winner at the post-season banquet.  Zimmer joins classmate and co-captain Eve Zelinger as co-winners of the Larry Leavitt Leadership Award, which is presented to the person who has shown hard work, dedication and improvement during the season. Zelinger also was named the Don Goss Spirit Award winner - “To the person who best embodies the spirit and determination that are a rich part of the Dartmouth women's basketball tradition.”

Roland concluded the team awards being named the GO award winner.  The "GO" award is presented annually to the Dartmouth Women's Basketball player who consistently demonstrated a commitment to improving the growth opportunities of her game.  It is one thing to simply identify your "GO", quite another to embrace the challenge and spend significant time moving your game and team forward.

Zimmer finishes her career having started all 85 games as a member of the Big Green. She ranks in Dartmouth’s top-10 in both three-point field goals attempted and three-point field goals made.  Zimmer set a career-high with 23 points against Columbia on Feb. 28 and ended the season averaging 10.4 points per game with 65 assists.

Zelinger made three starts as a senior and was named a co-captain before the season began.

Roland finished the season second on the team in scoring at 11.0 points per game and had four double-doubles.