Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Sailing Coaching Staff
John Storck
co-Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: co-Head Coach
Alma Mater: Hobart/William Smith
Graduating Year: 2005
Experience: 6 Years

John Storck joined the Dartmouth sailing program in September of 2005 as an Assistant Coach. He served as an assistant for two years before becoming a Co-Head Coach.

Storck holds a degree in Studio Art from Hobart & William Smith Colleges. While at HWS, he was a member of the varsity sailing team for four years.  Storck was named HWS Sailing's Rookie of the Year in 2002 and MVP in 2005.  He served as the team's Captain in 2004-05. During that year, his final year, he sailed A division on the team that eventually won both the ICSA Team Race Championship and ICSA Dinghy Championship. Following those National Championship victories, Storck was named an ICSA All American alongside his brother, Erik Storck (D '07). Storck is the only sailor in HWS history to sail in all four National Championships that men can qualify for.

Outside of collegiate sailing, Storck has a versatile resume. He holds silver and bronze medals from the US Sailing Team Race Championship. He has raced offshore, winning the 2010 Newport to Bermuda Race as a crewmember on Genuine Risk. He has competed in numerous World Championships, finishing in a tie for 4th at the 2009 Team Race World Championship and 12th at the 2010 J80 World Championship.

During Storck's tenure at Dartmouth, the Big Green has made 9 National Championship appearances, finishing 2nd at the 2007 ICSA Dinghy Nationals and winning the 2013 Women's National Championship. The national title was the third for the women's team and the fourth in the program's history. The successful spring didn't end there as the Coed team finished third at the ICSA Dinghy Nationals.

Storck has seen 16 Dartmouth sailors earn NEISA All-Conference honors and 11 of them be named ICSA All Americans. Storck also guided Deirdre Lambert as she became the first women's sailor at Dartmouth to earn the Quantum Women's College Sailor of the Year Award.