Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Dartmouth Has Eight NEIBA All-Stars

Article Image
Nick Lombardi was one of the six Big Green players to be named to the NEIBA All-Star First...     By Mike Janes

HANOVER, N.H. — The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) announced its University Division All-Star Teams with eight Dartmouth players among those selected, including six on the first team to lead all schools. All eight players had been named to the All-Ivy First Team two weeks ago, setting a league record. Bryant tied the Big Green for most players honored with five on the first team and three on the second.

The Dartmouth players chosen for the first team were senior left-hander Michael Johnson (7-0, 1.82 ERA), junior outfielder Jeff Keller (.369, 6 HR, Ivy-best 41 RBI), sophomore third baseman Nick Lombardi (.294, 4 HR, 39 RBI), sophomore catcher Matt MacDowell (.301, 2 HR, 26 RBIs), sophomore second baseman Matt Parisi (.329, 12 2B, 31 runs) and freshman designated hitter Joe Purritano (.343, 5 HR, 30 RBI). Both senior outfielder Ennis Coble (.325, 12 doubles, 33 runs, 11-11 SB) and sophomore reliever Thomas Olson (2-0, 1.15 ERA, 6 saves) were pegged for the second team.

The players on the first and second teams will play in the NEIBA All-Star game against the College Division team consisting of the selections from the Division II and III levels. The game will take place on Monday, June 3 at 7 p.m. at LeLacheur Park in Lowell, Mass.

UPDATE: The NEIBA All-Star Game has been canceled due to the weather. No make-up is scheduled.