Related Links

HANOVER, N.H.- The Dartmouth men's soccer team held its annual team banquet on May 5, honoring the achievements of the 2011 squad and recognizing several individuals as well as the team's Ivy League Championship.

The Big Green picked up their ninth Ivy League Championship in 2011 and had the 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year in Lucky Mkosana (Bulawayo, Zimbabwe). Dartmouth also landed three players on the All-Ivy League first team in Mkosana, Kevin Dzierzawski (Oakland Township, Mich.) and Nick Pappas (Scottsdale, Ariz.) Goalkeeper Noah Cohen (Johannesburg, South Africa) was an honorable mention selection while Pappas was also named Academic All-Ivy.

Dartmouth also picked up the NSCAA Team Academic Award and Mkosana was named to the NSCAA All-Northeast Region second team for his exploits throughout the season.

2011 Dartmouth Men's Soccer Team Awards

Most Valuable Player:
Lucky Mkosana
(Bulawayo, Zimbabwe), Senior Forward
The 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year, Mkosana capped one of the finest men's soccer careers in program history. A four-time NSCAA all-region selection, the senior co-captain firmly cemented his name in the Dartmouth record books by becoming Dartmouth's all-time leading scorer and points leader. Mkosana tallied his 34th career goal, breaking a record that stood since the 1950s.  Mkosana also became Dartmouth's all-time points leader with 78 career points, breaking a record that stood since the 1980s. He led the Dartmouth offense with 21 points on 10 goals and one assist and spent time in the national rankings. Mkosana concluded the season ranked No. 22 in goals per game (0.63), No. 32 in total goals (10) and No. 40 in points per game (1.30).

Will Shue Award (Rookie of the Year):
Colin Heffron
(Upper Brookville, N.Y.), Freshman Midfielder
The Will Shue Award presented in memory of Will Shue, '83, who passed away in an accident in 1988.  Shue was the the borther of Dartmouth men's soccer player, Andrew Shue '89. Heffron had an outstanding freshman season. He saw action in 16 games with 15 starts accumulating four points with one goal and two assists.

Most Improved Player:
Michael Donelan
  (Andover, Mass.), Senior Defender
Senior Michael Donelan was a staple on the Dartmouth backline this season, seeing action in 15 games with 11 starts. He was a crucial part of the Big Green defense that allowed just 1.16 goals per game. He showcased his offensive skills with one shot this season.

Norman Grant Clark Award:
Adam Rice
(Manalapan, N.J.), Senior Midfielder
The Norman Grant Clark Award is presented for contributions to Dartmouth Soccer both on and off the field. Rice, the consummate teammate, played in 16 games with nine starts, tallying one assist and taking nine shots. Off the field, Rice won the Class of 1948 award as a junior and is involved in numerous community service initiatives including serving as the Director of Athletes United.

Dartmouth also announced that rising seniors Kevin Dzierzawski (Oakland Township, Mich.) and Teo Larsson-Sax (Kalmar, Sweden) will wear the captain's armband next season.  Dzierzawski had a breakout junior season earning first team All-Ivy honors. He was Dartmouth's second best offensive player with 15 points on a team-best seven assists and four goals. Larsson-Sax started 15 games in 2011 and tallied one goal.

The Big Green concluded the 2011 season with an 8-6-4, 4-1-2 Ivy League record and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth consecutive season, becoming just one of 12 teams in the country to have played in the last five NCAA Tournaments.