Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - The 2012 Dartmouth women's lacrosse season was given a sense of finality Tuesday evening at the team's year-end banquet held at the Quechee Inn just over the Connecticut River in Vermont.

Awards were presented to individuals for their contributions to the program this past season, while coaches and players alike shared stories and memories about one another and their time with the Big Green.

Seniors Sarah Plumb (Wellesley, Mass.) and Kirsten Goldberg (Cockeysville, Md.) were honored as the team's Attack Co-MVPs. The duo finished tied for the lead in scoring this spring with 49 points apiece. Goldberg's 39 goals in 2012 rank as the 15th-best single-season total in program history, while Plumb was tabbed as the Ivy League Player of the Year in her final year in a Dartmouth uniform.

Plumb's second honor of the night came when she received the Patty Pierce Award. The accolade is presented annually to the player who has made outstanding contributions to the Dartmouth women's lacrosse program, along with being an exemplary role model both on and off the field over the course of four years.

Fellow senior and co-captain Georgia Bird (Summit, N.J.) was named the team's Defensive award for her role in the Big Green's dominating defense this past year. Bird was an anchor on the backend for a group that held high-powered offenses from Cornell and Penn in check en route to capturing the Ivy League Tournament Championship.

Plumb and Bird shared the honor of being named the recipients of the Josie Harper Award, given to the player or players who have shown love for the game, genuine respect and care for their teammates and pride in Dartmouth Lacrosse and hard work. The award is named for the former Dartmouth coaching great and athletics director.

The 1980 Award, presented to the woman who best represents themselves, the team, the College and community through their academics, athletics and community involvement went to junior Courtney Bennett (Darien, Conn.). Bennett was a force in the midfield in 2012, contributing on the draw as well as in the offensive zone, but earned the accolade for her all-around demeanor towards the betterment of the program.

 The team's Most Improved Player Award was given to freshman Christine Lushefski (Rumson, N.J.). The first-year player's progression from preseason exhibition games through the spring's regular season, including a two-goal game against Niagara on April 16, earned her the recognition.

Sophomore Kara Lehman (Lexington, Mass.) was awarded as the recipient of the Don '35 and Margaret Radasch Award, presented to the player who exemplifies extraordinary dedication, true coachability and an unselfish attitude throughout the season. A defender, Lehman made considerable strides in her second season in Hanover after appearing in just one game as a freshman. In 2012, Lehman became a key contributor off the bench for head coach Amy Patton's team, something she was able to achieve through hard work and perseverance.

Finally, the night ended and the focus was turned to 2013 as Patton announced the three players tabbed as Dartmouth's leaders for next season. Bennett, along with classmates Hana Bowers (Old Greenwich, Conn.) and Kelsey Johnson (Hingham, Mass.) will serve as tri-captains in 2013 as the Big Green look to get back to the NCAA Tournament for the third-straight year.


Goldberg Plumb Bird Lushefski Lehman Bennett