Related Links

QUECHEE, Vt.  – Every spring, in the weeks that follow the conclusion of the season, the Dartmouth women’s lacrosse team gathers for one final time in its current state to honor the achievements of its players.

The event is held at the Quechee Inn and is a celebration of the most recent edition of the Big Green, while also serving as a ceremony to announce the team awards.

Senior Liz Calby walked away from the evening with two accolades as she was honored with both the Patty Pierce Award as well as the Josie Harper Award. The latter of those two is presented annually to the player who has made outstanding contributions to the Dartmouth women's lacrosse program, along with being an exemplary role model both on and off the field over the course of four years. The Josie Harper Award is given to the player or players who have shown love for the game, genuine respect and care for their teammates and pride in Dartmouth Lacrosse and hard work.

Few players better exemplify the qualities and traits needed to earn each of those distinctions better than Calby. A senior from Darien, Connecticut, she was one of the focal points of the offense as well as an on-the-field catalyst that created numerous opportunities for other teammates to succeed. Her 42 points and 14 assists were both the best figures by any Big Green player this season, while her 28 goals ranked third, all helping her earn All-Ivy League Second-Team honors in 2014.

The Offensive MVP was presented to sophomore Jaclyn Leto. A breakout star in just her second season with the team, her 34 goals were tops among all Dartmouth players with her 41 points just one back of Calby. Leto’s nine multi-goal games were the most by anyone wearing the Green and White this spring, including a five-goal effort at Cornell that featured two last-minute overtime goals to force a second extra frame.

Leto’s strong play earned All-Ivy League First-Team and IWLCA All-Northeast Region Second-Team honors.

The Defensive MVP Award was presented to senior Bailey Johnson, another one of the team’s tri-captains along with Calby and Kara Lehman. Johnson was tasked with the responsibilities of guarding opponents’ top players nearly all season. Not only did she relish the opportunity to play against some of the best players in the nation, but more often than not, she was successful in limiting their offensive chances and forcing them into unfamiliar situations. That style of all play earned Bailey this honor.

Freshman Lauren Maiorano was named the team’s Most Improved Player and presented with the award as such. The rookie from Chatham, New Jersey, was an integral part of the midfield and defensive zones in her first season in Hanover. Maiorano came into the fold and adapted to the college game and Dartmouth’s system of play quickly, finishing the season first on the team in caused turnovers (12), while fourth in ground balls (14) and fifth in draw controls (10).

The Don '35 and Margaret Radasch Award, presented to the player who exemplifies extraordinary dedication, true coachability and an unselfish attitude throughout the season was presented to both Kyleigh Williams and Jessica Frieder.

Williams and Frieder were co-recipients after demonstrating incredible character and dedication to the team this past season and throughout their careers. Williams has been a student-volunteer coach for the past few seasons, giving so much of herself to Dartmouth Lacrosse in many ways that go unseen and unappreciated by fans. Frieder has backed-up Kristen Giovanniello in the circle the last few seasons and did not see action in 2014. That did little to diminish the impact Frieder had on her teammates and coaching staff throughout the year.

Head coach Amy Patton and her staff will announce captains in the coming weeks for the 2015 Big Green.

 Liz Calby Jessica Frieder Kyleigh Williams Jaclyn Leto  Bailey Johnson  Lauren Maiorano