Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Princeton Holds Off Dartmouth in Back-And-Forth Affair

Article Image
By John and Matt Risley

PRINCETON, N.J.  – The Dartmouth men’s lacrosse team fought to the very end, but eventually succumbed to 15th-ranked Princeton, 13-10, Saturday afternoon at Sherrerd Field at Class of 1952 Stadium.

Junior Jake Weil scored four goals in the contest to lead all players, but it would not be enough to overcome the opportunistic and timely scoring of the Tigers on this day.

The loss dropped the Big Green’s Ivy League record to 0-4, while falling to 1-8 overall this spring. In earning the three-goal victory, Princeton evened its conference mark at 2-2 and improved to 7-4 this season.

The home team took an 8-4 lead into halftime thanks in large part to two separate 3-0 runs in each of the first two quarters of play.

However, Dartmouth made the proper halftime adjustments that saw them come back to the field and outscore the Tigers, 6-5, over the course of the final 30 minutes.

Besides Weil, sophomore Billy Heidt was the other Big Green player to net multiple goals in the contest, finishing with two. Mike Olentine, KC Beard, Jack McCormick and Taylor Topousis all had one goal apiece as well for the visiting team.

Second-year goalkeeper Blair Friedensohn was tested often on this day, turning aside 12 shots in the game. Princeton’s attack finished the with 53 shots and 25 on goal as it looked to avenge last season’s 10-9 loss in Hanover to the Green and White.

Ryan Ambler was the catalyst of that offensive surge, posting seven points on three goals and four assists. Mike McDonald (2G/2A) and Zach Currier (3G/1A) also added four points in the win. Eric Sanschagrin stopped eight shots in goal for the Tigers to pick up the win and improve to 3-0 this season.

Dartmouth is back in action on Saturday, April 19 at home against Penn. Opening face-off with the Quakers is set for 1 p.m. from Scully-Fahey Field in a game that will also serve as Senior Day for the nine members of the Class of 2014.