Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Men's Lacrosse Honors Seven at Team Awards

Article Image
By John and Matt Risley
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth men’s lacrosse team and head coach Andrew Towers recently announced the team awards for the 2013 season with seven players receiving recognition.

The graduating Pat Flynn and junior-to-be Phil Hession each earned two awards, while Gunnar Shaw, KC Beard, Chris Costabile, Bernie Susskind and Nikki Dysenchuk garnered one award each.

Flynn was presented the Tom Dent award (MVP) and Dartmouth’s Dedication and Sacrifice award. Flynn anchored the back line of the Big Green defense, often times getting tasked with squaring off with the opposing team’s top scorer. The Mountain Lakes, N.J., native also picked up his second career point, registering an assist in a 13-8 triumph against Vermont on Feb. 26. Flynn capped his tenure in Hanover earning second team All-Ivy honors for the second straight year.

The Tom Dent Award is "To be awarded to the Senior player who by vote of the entire team, has demonstrated the ideals of Tom Dent through his aggressive play, his proven ability as a team player, and his enjoyment of the game, and who by his sportsmanlike conduct is a credit to the memory of Tom Dent and to Dartmouth."

Tom was one of the beloved figures of Dartmouth coaching.  He died May 10, 1962.  Born in Scotland, he came to this country to recuperate from a gassing suffered in WWI as a member of the Black Watch Regiment. He became soccer coach in 1924 and took on the task of coaching lacrosse in 1926 although he had no experience in the latter sport. A successful coach in terms of winning, he was also concerned with the characters of his charges.

Dartmouth’s Dedication and Sacrifice award is "To be awarded to the player who displays the most outstanding dedication and overall team effort day in and day out." Flynn, a two-year captain, was given the honor for the second consecutive season.

Hession picked up the Dud Hendrick award and the Blue Collar award. The Dud Hendrick award is “To be awarded to the player, selected by the coaching staff with input from team members, whose hard work, competitive spirit, and dedication to his teammates and to lacrosse, has led to the most improvement during his career at Dartmouth."

The Blue Collar award given "to the player that displays a daily work ethic that far exceeds most. While this player may not always make the showy or spectacular play, his efforts are always unassuming and dependable". Hession emerged as a team leader during his sophomore campaign scoring five goals and picking up a pair of assists while appearing in all 14 games. Hession stepped into the role taking faceoffs nicely, going 129-273 on the season. The Canton, Mass., native also set a single season program record for groundballs with 94.

Costabile was named the squad’s Offensive MVP after scoring 22 markers and dishing out eight helpers. Costabile scored at least 20 goals for the third time in his collegiate career. In his final season with the team, the attackman netted two hat tricks. The first came against Georgetown on March 2 at the Patriot Cup and the second came in Ivy League action against Yale on April 6.

Goaltender Bernie Susskind was named the Big Green’s Defensive MVP. In his first year as a full-time starter, Susskind picked up three wins with a goals-against average of 10.23. The Highland Beach, Fla., native made 160 saves and registered a save percentage of .530. The netminder garnered All-Ivy honorable mention status and recently participated in the NEILA East/West All-Star Game.

The Paul Schimoler award (formerly known as the Coaches Award) was given to senior Nikki Dysenchuk. The honor is presented "to the player who displays the spirit, camaraderie, enthusiasm, and loyalty to both his teammates and coaches."  In his final season, Dysenchuk finished second on the team with 14 goals. The quad-captain led by example and ends his collegiate career with 54 goals.

The Inaugural Class of 1980 Award is “To be awarded to one student athlete from both the men's and women's lacrosse teams, who best represents themselves, their team, the College and the community through their academics, athletics, and community involvement” and was given to Gunnar Shaw. Shaw spearheaded the team’s volunteer work and community efforts, while appearing in one game.

Freshman KC Beard earned the Jenkins C. Marshall 1984 award for the most outstanding first-year player. In 11 games, Beard potted three goals and dished out eight assists. Two of Beard’s markers were when Dartmouth was a man up and the Annapolis, Md., native also scooped up three groundballs. Beard impressed from game one, picking up a goal and two helpers in his collegiate debut.

KC Beard '16 Gunnar Shaw '14 Nikki Dysenchuk '13 Bernie Susskind '13
Chris Costabile '13 Pat Flynn '13 Phil Hession '15