Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Sailing Team Announces 2012-13 Team Awards

Article Image
By Doug Austin
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth sailing team and co-head coaches Justin Assad and John Storck recently announced its 2012-13 team awards with six different sailors receiving recognition.

The Klinger Trophy awarded to the Dartmouth sailor with the best varsity record over the year was given to junior Matt Wefer.

Junior Carissa Crawford earned the Jennifer Crary Trophy award. The award is given to the sailor who reflects fun and good sportsmanship, while displaying excellence in crewing.

The Yachtsman Trophy awarded to a Dartmouth sailor for their efforts to maintain the fleet, the boathouse, and its members went to sophomore Ian Storck.

Junior Sarah Peck was presented the Unsung Hero Trophy, which is awarded to the Dartmouth sailor who has made great contributions to the team that have gone unrecognized.

Junior Chris Price was awarded the Founders Trophy, which is given to the Big Green sailor who has shown the greatest improvement over the course of the year.

Finally, senior Margaret Wilson received the Larry Conover Trophy, which is awarded to the Dartmouth sailor who best exemplifies Larry's spirit of good sportsmanship, good fellowship, competitive excellence and interest in sailing as a means of recreational enjoyment.

The Big Green return to the waters in search of a berth in the National Championship as both the women’s and Coed teams compete in the semifinals. The women race May 21 and the Coed team sets sail May 28.

Matt Wefer '14 Carissa Crawford '14 Ian Storck '15
Sarah Peck '14 Chris Price '14 Margaret Wilson '13