Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Sailing Takes First at BC Invite, Second at Oberg Trophy

Article Image
By Doug Austin
Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. — With five regattas on tap this past weekend, the Dartmouth sailing team nailed down a win at the BC Invite/Central 5 and followed up with a runner-up finish at the Oberg Trophy at Harvard. Additionally, the Big Green took fourth at the Women's Stu Nelson at MIT and eighth at both the Wellahan and Sherman Hoyt Trophies on the weekend.

Scott Houck and Margaret Wilson helped the Dartmouth A Division finish second of 18 teams at the Oberg Trophy with 100 points, just 15 points behind Rhode Island. In the B Division, Christopher Price and Matthew Habig took third with 84 points. Lastly, Bo McClatchy and Charlotte Snow teamed up in the C Division for 79 points in a second place effort, contributing to the overall runner-up finish.

"We had ideal conditions for the Oberg at Harvard this weekend," said Wilson. "Through predictably unpredictable Charles shifts, puffs and community boating traffic, the team had a great regatta."

At the BC Invite, the Big Green finished first of seven teams, picking up a victory for the fourth time this season. Colin Murphy and Emily Petno paired together to take first in the A Division with 78 points, breaking a head-to-head tiebreaker with Connecticut College. Dartmouth also had another team competing at the event, which finished fourth overall.

"Both days were typical for BC, with winds varying greatly in speed and direction," sailor Hunter Johnstone recalled, "causing us frustration in working our way around the course. Regardless, Dartmouth got it done by taking first and fourth of seven teams at the event."

The Dartmouth women placed fourth of 18 at the Stu Nelson Trophy, led by Kelsey Wheeler, Lizzie Guynn and Sarah Peck in the A Division. The B squad, composed of Madilyn Gamble and Chandler Salisbury, took third with 93 points to also aid in the team finish.

Rounding out the weekend was a pair of eighth place finishes at the Sherman Hoyt and Wellahan Trophies. Matthew Wefer and Avery Plough finished third in A Division with 77 points, while Deirdre Lambert and Carissa Crawford were 10th in the B bracket with 123 points at the Sherman Hoyt. At the Wellahan, the Big Green took eighth in the A and sixth in the B for a combined score of 105.

"We all appreciated the warm weather and beautiful sunshine down at Brown for the Sherman Hoyt Trophy," said Crawford. "Breeze was everything, from a solid sea breeze out of the south to Charles-like shiftiness out of the west. It made for excellent practice at keeping our heads out of the boat and being patient."

Dartmouth is scheduled to compete in the Erwin Schell Trophy at Brown, along with the Women's Victorian Coffee Urn at Connecticut College next weekend, Oct. 27-28.