Related Links

ST. MARY’S CITY, Md. — The Dartmouth sailing team wrapped up its 2014 spring season by finishing in eighth place out of 18 teams at the Gill Coed Dinghy National Championship, hosted by St. Mary’s College of Maryland, on June 5-6. Yale took home the Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy with 121 points, 88 fewer than second-place Georgetown, while the Big Green’s 275 points placed them between College of Charleston in seventh and Navy in ninth.

Thursday’s racing brought about some of the windiest conditions in the championship series this spring, causing whitecaps on the river. The A-Division sailed in FJs in nine races while the B-Division went with the 420s for 10 races before the winds died down and ended the competition for the day. On Friday, the two divisions switched boats, completing the 15 races in each division.

The Big Green finished Thursday in seventh place with the A-Division team of seniors Matt Wefer and Avery Plough winning the fourth race and finishing third in two others. The best finish for the B-Division sailors on the opening day came in the first race with junior skipper Scott Houck and sophomore crew Lizzie Guynn taking fourth. But on Friday the B-Division team ended on a high note by winning the final race with Houck and freshman Julia McKown on board.

Wefer and Plough paired up in all 15 races and finished fifth in the A-Division with 126 points, just six behind Old Dominion, while Yale (71) bested Tufts (98) at the top of the standings with Georgetown (102) in third.

Dartmouth mixed and matched several sailors in the B-Division races with Houck and Guynn competing in the first five, and Houck and McKown in the sixth and 15th races. Women’s Sailor of the Year, junior Deirdre Lambert, skippered the boat for the seventh through 14th races, teaming up with Guynn in the seventh through 12th before pairing up with freshman Nate Greason in the 13th and 14th. The group finished the two days in 10th place with 149 points, also right behind Old Dominion. The Bulldogs dominated the action, recording a mere 50 points, while Georgetown was second with 107.

Gary Jobson and Chris Love filmed portions of the championship for an ESPNU segment, which will air on Friday, July 11 at 7 p.m. ET, Saturday, July 12 at 4 a.m. and 9 a.m. ET, and Sunday, July 13 at 8 a.m. ET.