Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Women's Sailing Builds Lead at National Championship

Article Image
By Dartmouth

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – After the second day of racing at the College Spring National Championship, the Dartmouth women’s sailing team held their top position in the 18-boat fleet with a two division total of 149 points on Thursday afternoon.

The event is co-hosted by South Florida, St. Petersburg, Eckerd College and the St. Petersburg Yacht Club while boasting a field of the top 18 teams in the country. The sailors are racing off the coast of St. Petersburg in Tampa Bay.

With four races left heading into the third day of action, the Big Green stretched their lead from five points to 39. Chasing Dartmouth are Boston College and St. Mary’s College of Maryland who are tied for second place with 188 points.

"Day two is always a big day at a national championship," Dartmouth co-head coach John Storck said. "We had a terrific team effort all day, and once again avoided the big mistakes that are easy to come by in this great fleet.We're happy to be where we are, but have four more races to continue focusing on the little things."

The Dartmouth team managed to stay on top of the competition today by sailing consistently thanks to sophomore Deirdre Lambert and junior Carissa Crawford in 'A' Division and junior Kelsey Wheeler and freshman Lizzie Guynn in 'B' Division.

In the ‘A’ Division, Dartmouth built its lead with a group total of 51 points. The 51 points was tops in the heat with the next best score coming from U.S. Naval Academy with 81.

In the ‘B’ Division, the Big Green tallied 98 points. The 98 points was sixth best in the heat and brought the team’s total to 149.

Dartmouth and the rest of the field wrap up the 2013 women’s national championship tomorrow, May 24, with the last four races in search of its fourth national title. Racing is set to begin around 12 p.m. tomorrow. The later start time allows for the breeze to fill properly. Tomorrow is the last day of racing in the regatta. No race can begin after 5 p.m. The day will culminate in an awards banquet scheduled for 7 p.m. at the University of South Florida, St. Petersburg. 

The top three women’s teams will be presented with the Gerald C. Miller Trophy (1st place), the New England Women’s Trophy (2nd place) and the Ann Campbell Trophy (3rd place). The Quantum Women’s College Sailor of the Year will also be awarded to a female sailor who has consistently performed at the highest competitive level in the 2012-2013 seasons. The ICSA Women’s All-American Team will also be announced.