Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – It was announced Friday afternoon that both Bob Gaudet ’81 and Rich Ryerson ’80 had been named inductees into the New Hampshire Legends of Hockey Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2018.

Gaudet will enter the Hall as a coach, while Ryerson goes in under the player category.

Entering his 22nd season behind the bench of his alma mater, Gaudet is the second-longest serving head coach in the history of Dartmouth hockey behind only Eddie Jeremiah ’28 (26 seasons). In that time, Gaudet has posted 305 wins with the Big Green, trailing only Jeremiah’s 308 for the most in program history. He reached 300 wins in Hanover late last season when he guided his team to its third victory of the year over a top-10 team when it took down No. 7 Clarkson, 3-2 at Thompson Arena.

A two-time ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year, Gaudet ranks 15th all-time in games coached at the Division I level with 953. Amongst coaches in ECAC Hockey history, Gaudet trails only former St. Lawrence men’s coach Joe Marsh (975) for most all-time between his time at Brown and Dartmouth.

A former player and assistant with the Big Green, Gaudet has been a member of the Big Green hockey family for all but nine of the last 41 years.

Ryerson was a teammate of Gaudet’s on those Dartmouth teams of the late 1970s and early 1980s that reached a pair of Frozen Fours. One of just 100 players in program history to reach the century mark for games played, Ryerson suited up for 111 games during his collegiate career, finishing with 29 goals and 55 points.

His dedication to his school and team did not diminish upon his graduation in 1980. The Concord native has served as the President of the Friends of Dartmouth Men’s Hockey for more than a decade. He joins his father Dick Ryerson in the New Hampshire Hall after the elder was elected in 2006.

Gaudet, Ryerson and four others will formally be inducted into the Hall of Fame during a ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 21, 2018. Hall of Fame Induction tickets will be available to the general public on September 1.

Brendan Creagh of Hanover and Brian Foster of Pembroke will join Ryerson as players. Don McKinnon is being inducted as an official and the late Tony Urban is being inducted posthumously as a builder.