Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – Dartmouth men’s swimming and diving head coach James Holder announced the 2017-18 team awards at the annual end-of-season banquet.

The Tate Ramsden Coaches Award was developed this year and is going to be given annually in honor of Ramsden ’17, who passed away on Dec. 26, 2015, while training in Florida. This award is determined by the coaches and presented to the swimmer or diver whose character and commitment to the team best exemplifies the spirt of Dartmouth swimming. In its inaugural year, the award was given to Stas Van Genderen, who improved throughout his freshman year and swam the 500, 1000 and 1650 free at the Ivy League Championship.

Connor LaMastra received both the Karl B. Michael Award and the Outstanding Freshman Award. Michael, after whom the Dartmouth pool is named, retired as head coach in 1970 after 28 years on deck. He had an impressive 218-91 record, produced 37 All-American swimmers and was awarded the National Collegiate and Scholastic Trophy for outstanding contribution to the sport in 1967. The award named after him is given to the member of the squad who has given the most to the team. LaMastra had an impressive rookie season, breaking school records in the 200 fly (multiple times), 500 free and 800 free relay.

The Paul E. Tsongas Most Improved Award was given to Henry Patrick. The award was named in honor of Tsongas, who was a four-year member of the team (1958-62) and was a quiet, yet effective leader. The U.S. Senator, who ran for presidency in 1992, died of cancer in 1997. Patrick earned a lot of points at Ivies, faring well in the 50 free, 100 fly and 100 free. He was also part of the 400 medley, 200 free and 400 free relays.

Brett Seeley-Hacker received the Glover Trophy for being the most inspirational member of the team. Seeley-Hacker had a good senior season, swimming the 200 fly, 1000 and 1650 free at his final Ivy League Championship. John Glover, a three-time All-American, captain and holder of 35 records during his collegiate career, died at the Yale Pool while training for an Olympic berth in 1956.

The Lutkus Award is given to the swimmer or diver proven to be an outstanding and consistent performer during the season and has maintained a high academic standing. This year’s winner was Carter Jacobsen, who had a few events switched throughout the season, but still excelled. He swam the 50, 100, 200 and 500 free at Ivies. He was also part of the 400 and 800 free relays, the latter of which broke the school record.

Justin Sodokoff was named the Ron Keenhold Outstanding Diver. Keenhold was both a swimming and diving coach at Dartmouth for four decades who has numerous accolades as an All-American diver. Sodokoff had a good freshman year, finishing first in multiple meets and taking eighth on 1-meter and 11th on 3-meter at the Ivy League Championship.

At the conclusion of the banquet, it was announced that Patrick, Jacobsen and Iain Edmundson will serve as captains for the 2018-19 season.