Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – The Dartmouth track & field programs handed out 2016-17 team awards at the annual banquet Tuesday evening in an event held at the Dartmouth Outing Club. Coaches, staff and student-athletes were on hand as part of the year-end celebration.

Several awards and certificates were handed out over the course of the event to members of both the men's and women's teams for performances during both the indoor and outdoor seasons.

The Everett L. Palmer Track Prize is given annually to the male athlete who contributed most to the track program during the year as determined by the coaching staff. This year, the award was presented to senior Nico Robinson, fresh off his Ivy League Heptagonal outdoor win in the decathlon last week at Yale.

The Excellence Award is presented to the student-athlete on the women's team deemed the most valuable. While the men's award went to a four-year veteran of the team, this year's recipient on the women's side was presented to a freshman as rookie Cha'Mia Rothwell was presented with the distinction. Rothwell was a three-time Ivy champ this year with two indoors and another during the recent outdoor meet.

Three first-year members of the Big Green were honored as the program's Most Outstanding Freshmen. After being named the team MVP, it was clear that Rothwell would also take home the top rookie honor. On the men's side, Henry Raymond and Cole Andrus were recognized for their contributions during their first year in Hanover.

The Nathan D. Bugbee 1925 Memorial Track Prize is presented each year to one individual on each of the men's and women's track squads who, according to fellow team members, best exemplifies the characteristics of good team sportsmanship, spirit, camaraderie, and overall dedication to the sport and who demonstrates respect for team members, opponents and officials. This year's recipients were senior Jennie Cunningham and junior Ben Colello.

Sophomore Matthew Sindelar was presented with the Leon E. Lovejoy Track Prize, which is given each season to the member of the team who, in the opinion of the departmental administrators and the coaches, has done the most in sportsmanship and competition to uphold the interest of Dartmouth College.

The Herb Chase Track Award is presented to the members of the team who, in the opinion of the coaching staff, has made the greatest improvement in his or her event through hard work, self-discipline and enthusiasm for the sport.

This year saw four individuals claim the honor with three coming from the men's team and Amelia Ali of the women's team. The three men honored were Benjamin Ose, Trevor Colby and Timothy Brennan.

The Paul S. Harmon '13 Trophy is a program-specific honor that is given to the member of the senior class who is a distance or cross country runner and who, in the opinion of the track coach and Director of Athletics, has shown the greatest improvement in track athletics during his college career. For his efforts over the course of his four-year career, this year's recipient was Connor Clark.

The Carl Wallin Coach's Award was given to four individuals who demonstrated to the coaching staff, teammates and officials the intangibles required to excel in his or her event. The two winners on the women's side were freshman Shanthi Hiremath and junior Bridget Douglas, while junior Amos Cariati and sophomore Lucas Ribeiro were tabbed from the men's team.

The night was also used as a platform to announce team captains for the 2017-18 seasons. The women will be led by Nicole Deblasio, Bridget O'Neill and Douglas. Colello, Minor and Cariati will serve as the team leaders for the men.

Other awards were given to those members of the Big Green who claimed individual championship titles at either indoor or outdoor Heps as well as the national championship meet. Those student-athletes were:

Cha'Mia Rothwell – Long Jump (indoor), 60m Hurdles (indoor), 100m Hurdles (outdoor)
Helen Schlachtenhaufen – Mile (indoor)
Olivia Wiener – Javelin (outdoor)

Julia Valenti – Pole Vault (New England Championship)
Moriah Morton – Javelin (New England Championship)

Nico Robinson – Decathlon (outdoor)

Lucas Ribeiro – Discus (New England Championship)
Colin Minor – Hammer Throw (New England Championship))

Outstanding Achievement recognition was also given to any member of the teams that set a new Dartmouth program record in an event over the course of the year. Those were given to the following individuals and relay teams:

Julia Valenti – Pole Vault (4.0m)
Amelia Ali – Weight Throw (18.52m)
Cha'Mia Rothwell – 60m (7.45), 60m Hurdles (8.30), 100m Hurdles (13.23), Long Jump (6.17m)