Related Links
NEW YORK, N.Y. — Dartmouth linebacker Folarin Orimolade was unveiled as the Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year and Asa S. Bushnell Cup recipient at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City on Monday afternoon. Taking home the Offensive Player of the Year honor was Princeton running back John Lovett at the press conference and reception co-hosted by the National Football Foundation and presented by the Pasadena Tournament of Roses.

A 6-0, 235-pound senior from Burtonsville, Maryland, Orimolade is the seventh Big Green player — but first defender — to earn the Bushnell Cup.

Orimolade, a preseason All-American who was also a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award as the top defender in the FCS, made his presence felt on the field every game of his senior season, leading the Big Green with 83 tackles, 14.5 for a loss with nine sacks, and five forced fumbles. He is among the nation’s leaders on a per game basis in each of those categories, topping the FCS with 0.5 forced fumbles per game and ranking 10th with 0.9 sacks per game, both of which lead the Ivy League. His 1.45 tackles for a loss per game also place him second in the conference and 22nd nationally.

The tri-captain and All-New England performer twice was chosen as the Ivy League Defensive Player of the Week during the 2016 campaign. Those two weekly honors followed victories over Holy Cross and Cornell as Orimolade registered two sacks in both contests. On three occasions, he posted double-digit tackles, including a career-high 13 in the season finale at Princeton. A first-team All-Ivy League selection each of the past two seasons, Orimolade finished his Big Green career with 143 tackles, 35 tackles for a combined loss of 207 yards, 23.5 sacks (second all-time at Dartmouth) for 173 yards, 10 forced fumbles and eight passes broken up.

This is the seventh year that the league has announced finalists for the honor, and the fifth in which Dartmouth has had a player among them. After Nick Schwieger ’12 shared the award in 2010, he was a finalist again the following year when the honor was split into an offensive and defensive component. In 2014, quarterback Dalyn Williams ’16 was on hand for the offensive award, and linebacker Will McNamara ’16 was listed for the defensive honor last year.

Notes: Other Dartmouth players to win the Bushnell Cup are QB Jim Chasey (1970), QB Buddy Teevens (1978), RB Shon Page (1990), RB Al Rosier (1991), QB Jay Fiedler (1992) and RB Nick Schwieger (2010) … Orimolade is just the second player to win the Bushnell Cup after playing for a team that finished eighth in the Ivy League standings ... the other Ivy Leaguer to do so was Columbia QB John Witkowski in 1982.